Gaming: Weekly Roundup 09/05/2014

This last week I have had a few days holiday, which combined with the bank holiday meant some really good time with the family. I just want to say that if anyone is based in the general area, Noah’s Ark Zoo Farm is a truly excellent place to visit. It is especially good with children of all ages, as they have masses of things to do and areas to play, in addition to looking at various animals from the commonplace to the exotic. We discovered the place last year, and this year we have season tickets.

In gaming terms I decided to take a break from World of Tanks this last week. I returned to the game yesterday, and had a fairly horrible performance. I am hoping better for tonight. I also indulged myself a little with a blast from the past – the not too distant past in this case, namely Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy. A wonderfully casual game, probably my favourite of that entire series. I think the conceit of breaking the game up into a series of missions makes it particularly easy to just play for a set amount of time. Not the most complex game, or the most challenging, but diverting.

My other main game of the last week was EVE Online. Given we had some extended time together without our various works getting in the way both my wife and I managed to get some playtime in together. With Fanfest and its various announcements out of the way, not to mention the hopeful date for the Kronos update, I am very much in holding mode. Mostly this means running missions, partly for isk, partly for standings, and just reconnecting to friends. Also lots of thinking.

Alas, holiday time is over, which means back in the saddle for all sorts of things. I suspect more gaming ahead!

1 comment
  1. Bernard said:

    In the Dark Forces/Jedi Knight series the best is probably Jedi Knight 1. That said: Academy has the best lightsaber fights of the series. The things you can do (if you can remember all the combos) are just amazing!!

Leave a Reply

