WoT: March 2014 Report

Overall

Well the first thing to note about my tanking in February is that illness got in the way of a lot of it. I think I have lost at least 1/3 of the month to one ailment or another, mostly of course in this final stretch. This means I have achieved very little of what I intended – but c’est la vie. Indeed as of writing this I am still uncomfortably ill.

I have at least researched both the IS-4 and Panther II, and made a start on almost all the outstanding Tier IVs, and started on the British artillery line. However my credit grind for the IS-4 has been less than successful as I have made a few side-purchases. Going forward into March I intend to make a determined effort to start amassing those credits.

One small milestone that has passed this month is that I have fought my eight thousandth battle. The end of March will also mark my second anniversary in World of Tanks, which I am looking forward to.

Otherwise I do want to push on through getting the remaining Tier IVs played. After which I am going to take a look through which tanks I have and which tanks I wish to get in the mid-tiers, and then pick one to push to. The obvious first choice will be the Hellcat, but I am sure there will be others. Priority, though, of course will go to my current main grinds: T29, IS-3, the crew for my IS-4, and completing my Tier VI grinds. To aid the credit grinds I am also going to try and get some considerable gameplay in on my premiums. Not so much the very low tier ones, but Tier V and above, probably in particular the T-25, Dicker Max, and SU-100Y as they get regular matchmaking.

Garage Trip

M5A1 Stuart(Tier IV Light Chinese) – researching. I have played eight games so far, which apart from anything else shows how poor a scout I am. I have all the modules upgraded apart from the radio, which will help the scouting to be sure (+50%) range.

AMX 40 (Tier IV Light French) – fully upgraded. Well, this tank is pretty much everything I expected it to be – only not quite as bad. I am able to do damage! However, this tank is not for the faint of heart. I had played it six thousand battles ago, I would have loathed it.

BDR G1B (Tier V Heavy French) – unplayed.

S-35 CA (Tier V TD French) – elited. Not yet played since re-acquisition.

ARL V39 (Tier VI TD French) – elited. A handful of games just for fun.

Leichttraktor (Tier I Light German) elited. A single, fairly forgettable game.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. Not played in February.

Panzer I Ausf. C (Tier II Light German) – elited. A couple of games. One was basically a suicide (though not intentionally). The other was a good best effort, if ultimately a defeat.

T-15 (Tier III Light German) – premium. Just a single game.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier V Light German) – elited. Not played in February.

Pz S35 739f (Tier III Medium German) – premium. Not played in February.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. Another single game.

Panzer IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. A few games, but only the one victory.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Not played in February.

VK3001D (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. Not played in February.

VK3002M (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. Not played in February.

Panzer V Panther (Tier VII Medium German) – elited. Still improving in this vehicle, but I have decided I do rather like it. I intend to continue playing on and off until such time as I get the Panther II (though that is a few million credits away).

Durchbruchswagen 2 (Tier IV Heavy German) – unplayed.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Not played in February.

VK3001H (Tier V Heavy German) – elited. A single good game. Am considering trying to work in a few more games to get the crew a bit better for when I eventually get the Tiger II..

VK3601H (Tier VI Heavy German) – elited. My crew here will be what I eventually put into the VK4502 Ausf. A.

Panzer VI Tiger (Tier VII Heavy German) – elited. A handful of games..

Tiger P (Tier VII Heavy German) – elited. Not played in February.

VK4502P Ausf. A (Tier VIII Heavy German) – unplayed.

Marder 38T (Tier IV TD German) – elited. Am ready to sell this and move on whenever I decide to get the next tank along. I still play the odd game to continue to boost the crew.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. Just one game.

Stug III (Tier V TD German) – elited. Ended up being unplayed, a casualty of my health.

Dicker Max (Tier VI TD German) – premium. I imagine I will be getting this out more often in the coming weeks on the credit grind.

Ferdinand (Tier VIII TD German) – researching. Still grinding out that top gun – I would have had it if I hadn’t missed all the time I have. I hope to get it sorted in March.

Pz Sfl IVb (Tier IV SPG German) – elited. Not played in February.

Hummel (Tier VI SPG German) – elited. Not played in February and currently without a crew.

GW Panther (Tier VII SPG German) – researching. Just the lone game. I really need to try and get more game time in on this one.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. Just a single game. .

Light Mk VIc (Tier II Light UK) – premium. Unplayed.

Covenanter (Tier IV Light UK) – elited. A few games played. So far I intend to keep this, if only to give me more opportunities to get the Ace Tanker medal.

Valentine (Tier IV Light UK) – fully upgraded. I have had some really enjoyable games in the Valentine so far, including an Ace Tanker medal. Slow, but very well armoured for Tier IV, it also has quite respectable pen (110 regular, 180 premium) meaning it can have an impact in all games. Again, considering keeping it.

Crusader (Tier V Light UK) – unplayed. Acquired on special offer.

Matilda (Tier IV Medium UK) – elited. A few fun games.

Matilda Black Prince (Tier V Medium UK) – premium. Unplayed.

Churchill I (Tier V Heavy UK) – unplayed.

Excelsior (Tier V Heavy UK) – premium. Unplayed.

Alecto (Tier IV TD UK) – researching. Just a single game so far, which was quite fun.

Loyd Gun Carriage (Tier II SPG UK) – elited. A few games, and I have found I really like this little machine. Even with a 75% crew it is surprisingly accurate – I believe this being a result of a high shell arc. The trick is the slow travel time of the shells. Still, a real gem I am glad to have found, and I will be keeping it – something I did not expect I would say when I first got it.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. A couple of mostly unsuccessful games.

T7 Combat Car (Tier II Light USA) – premium. As yet unplayed.

M5 Stuart (Tier IV Light USA) – fully upgraded. Not played in February.

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. A few matches along the credit grind, nothing more.

M7 (Tier V Medium USA) – unplayed.

Ram-II (Tier V Medium USA) – premium. Unplayed in February.

M4A3E2 Sherman Jumbo (Tier VI Medium USA) – elited. A keeper, which I hope to play the odd game in now and then to keep the crew ticking over.

M4A3E8 Sherman (Tier VI Medium USA) – fully upgraded. Another tank whose gameplay was far less than intended, on account of my health.

T14 (Tier V Heavy USA) – premium. I had a few more games, but in all honesty can remember nothing about them.

M6 (Tier VI Heavy USA) – elited. Not played in February.

T29 (Tier VII Heavy USA) – researching. Slowly working my way through the engines. I still need to do better at not exposing the hull when I do not have to.

T49 (Tier V TD USA) – unplayed.

M10 Wolverine (Tier V TD USA) – unplayed.

M3 Light (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

T-127 (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Had another good, fun match in this in February.

LTP (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

T-80 (Tier IV Light USSR) – unplayed.

Valentine II (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Finally got a game in on this, which was fun.

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – elited. Not played in February.

Matilda IV (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Not played in February.

T-34-85 (Tier VI Medium USSR) – researching. Not played in February.

A-43 (Tier VI Medium USSR) – fully upgraded. Not played in February.

Churchill III (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Some games helping train the IS-4 crew.

KV-220 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. A few more games helping train the IS-4 crew.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. The IS-4 crew is looking pretty good. The second crew now at around 60% (though not yet re-trained away). .

T-150 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – researching. Not played in February.

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Just a lone game.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Tank goes boom.

IS (Tier VII Heavy USSR) – elited. Uncrewed.

IS-3 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – researching. Another tank I did far less with than expected, on account of health.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – elited. A few games whilst platooning with clan-mates.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Played a lot less than intended – but it will need to become a regular feature again with the credit grind.

ST-I (Tier IX Heavy USSR) – elited. Top tank is favourite tank.

SU-85 (Tier V TD USSR) – elited. Not played in February.

SU-100 (Tier VI TD USSR) – researching. Not played in February.

SU-100Y (Tier VI TD USSR) – premium. Not played in February.

SU-26 (Tier III SPG USSR) – researching. Not played in February.

Type 95 Ha-Go (Tier II Light Japan) – researching. Just one game.

Chi-Ni (Tier II Medium Japan) – elited. Failing to get the Ace Tanker.

Bought this month: Loyd Gun Carriage, Matilda Black Prince, Valentine, Crusader.

Sold this month: B1, Renault Otsu

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 8075 (+241)
Victories – 4552 56.37% (+139 +0.04%)
Defeats – 3440 42.6% (+96 -0.09%)
Draws – 83 1.03% (+6 +0.05%)
Survived – 2460 30.46% (+82 +0.09%)

Destroyed – 9808 (+283)
Detected – 9865 (+340)
Hit Ratio – 70.01% (+0.2%)
Damage – 5,417,112 (+217,295)
Damage Received – 4,331,293 (+184,662)
Total Experience – 4,639,911 (+174,528)

New Efficiency – 1205 (+2)
WN6 Rating – 1365 (+6)
WN7 Rating – 1422 (+8)
Average Tier – 4.94 (+0.03)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.21 (-0.01)
Average Damage/Battle – 670 (+7)
Average Kills/Death – 1.75 (unch)
Damage ratio – 1.25 (unch)
Spotted/Battle – 1.22 (unch)

Achievements:

Pool’s Medal – 1
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Lehväslaiho’s Medal – 1
Halonen’s Medal – 8
Pascucci’s Medal – 5
De Langlade’s Medal – 2
Bilotte’s Medal – 1

Brothers in Arms – 9
Crucial Contribution 2

Top Gun – 136 (+3)
High Calibre – 4 (+4)
Confederate – 59 (+3)
Patrol Duty – 17
Steel Wall – 155 (+9)
Defender – 25
Invader – 2
Scout – 22 (+1)
Sniper – 368 (+13)

Kamikaze – 9 (+1)
Reaper – 7
Hunter – 3
The Lion of Sinai – 2
Master Gunner – 81
Sharpshooter – 478

Cool-Headed – 45
Lucky – 5
Spartan – 32 (+2)

Kay’s II Class 212 to go (-33)
Carius’ II Class 192 to go (-285)
Ekins II Class 2227 to go (-45)
Knispel’s II Class 251,595 to go (-401,957)
Popel’s II Class 10,135 to go (-340)
Abram’s II Class 2720 to go (-76)
Leclerc’s II Class 19,487 to go (-230)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 20,727 to go (-282)

Top 10 Tanks Overall:
Marder II – 1268 (61,12%)
KV-1 – 488 (54,51%)
KV-5 – 481 (56,34%)
KV-4 – 292 (52,74%)
ST-I – 210 (55,24%)
Hetzer – 205 (56,1%)
Panzer IV – 200 (63%)
M4 Sherman – 173 (58,38%)
KV-2 – 166 (55,42%)
Jagdpanther – 161 (55,9%)

Top 9 Tanks in February:
Panther – 29
KV-1 – 26
ST-I – 19
T29 – 19
Ferdinand – 11
KV-5 – 11
IS-3 – 11
Marder 38T – 9
Valentine – 9

Total Number of Tanks played in February: 45

Comment

Given my restricted gameplay, general poor health, plus the fact I had a couple of extended losing streaks (no doubt partially caused by said ill health), I am reasonably content. The vast majority of all the indices are either stable or going in the right direction. I have taken advantage of this period of illness and general lack of playing to actually do some research on some aspects of my game that could do with improvement, so we will see if that actually bears any fruit when I get back to playing.

Speaking of stats, I am particularly pleased to note my accuracy has now gotten about 70%. More shells hitting = more chance of actually doing damage, which has to be a good thing. My survival rate increase is also a good thing, but I think that there is still a very long way to go where that is concerned.

There is one particular thing to note about awards, in that 8.11 made a significant change to the most common Battle Honour . The Sniper medal is no longer awarded – I will forever I have 368. Given that it was by far the easiest medal to earn, this is going to result in a slower gain of medals. However, March should also see my first two First Class career medals.

Leave a Reply

