WoT: February 2014 Report

Overall

Well for one reason or other I ended up playing a lot less World of Tanks in January than I have done in the last few months. Despite this I have managed to achieve some significant aims. In particular I got nine days’ worth of premium from the IS-6 missions. I have also gotten and started playing two tanks that have been on my mind for a while, the T29 and IS-3, and the IS-4 is very nearly unlocked.

In what may be a case of famous last words, I do think I have had a fairly good month for learning how to extend the life of my tank, even if not actually survive. I feel that I have had fewer games where I did very little damage. I do, however, seem to be the victim this month of a series of losing streaks in  particular tanks or on particular nights, which has proved irritating. Will need to find a way to overcome that.

Moving forward into February my first aim is to concentrate on the ST-I, training my crew for the IS-4, the IS-3, Panther, T29, and also continue to work my way through the lower-tier vehicles. I also need to decide which crew to concentrate on once the IS-4 crew’s training is complete. My gut feeling is that it should be a German crew, probably a German heavy crew, but we shall see how matters progress. I also want to continue working through the Tier IVs.

I am also considering a rather crazy intention – to try and get at least one game over the course of the month on every tank in my garage for which I have a crew. We shall see.

Garage Trip

M5A1 Stuart(Tier IV Light Chinese) – unplayed.

AMX 40 (Tier IV Light French) – unplayed.

B1 (Tier IV Heavy French) – elited. Not played in January. I was going to sell it off, but I find myself curiously reluctant to do so.

BDR G1B (Tier V Heavy French) – unplayed.

S-35 CA (Tier V TD French) – elited. Not yet played since re-acquisition.

ARL V39 (Tier VI TD French) – elited. Looking at my stats things are not too bad – 52.78% winrate, 1.39 damage ratio, and 1.21 destruction ratio, so I have been playing it reasonably well. However, I clearly have never managed to get it to go above and beyond.

Leichttraktor (Tier I Light German) elited. Not played in January.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. Not played in January.

Panzer I Ausf. C (Tier II Light German) – elited. Not played in January.

T-15 (Tier III Light German) – premium. A couple of games only, which if memory serves were not so good. In one I recall getting blasted to smithereens by another platoon of T-15s.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier V Light German) – elited. Not played in January.

Pz S35 739f (Tier III Medium German) – premium. Not played in January.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. Only a couple of games.

Panzer IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. Not played in January.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Just a single game.

VK3001D (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. Not played much. I am intending to devote more time to this tank at some juncture, to use it to train a crew up, and I am very much looking forward to doing so.

VK3002M (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. Now I play it as more of a sniper it works a lot better.

Panzer V Panther (Tier VII Medium German) – fully upgraded. Starting to get more successful as begin to learn when to shoot and when to withdraw. My wrecks mark my learning progress. Just over half-way to the Panther II.

Durchbruchswagen 2 (Tier IV Heavy German) – unplayed.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Not played in January.

VK3001H (Tier V Heavy German) – elited. Not played in January.

VK3601H (Tier VI Heavy German) – elited. A good few games in the first half of the month.

Panzer VI Tiger (Tier VII Heavy German) – elited. A couple of less than stellar games.

Tiger P (Tier VII Heavy German) – elited. Just the one game this month.

VK4502P Ausf. A (Tier VIII Heavy German) – unplayed.

Marder 38T (Tier IV TD German) – elited. The crew is now at 100%. I will probably get the first skill on my two less-skilled crew-members up to around 60-70% camo before moving on.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. Just one game.

Stug III (Tier V TD German) – elited. A handful of games, still trying to achieve what this tank is capable of.

Dicker Max (Tier VI TD German) – premium. Just earning a few credits

Ferdinand (Tier VIII TD German) – researching. A little under half-way to the top gun. Am starting to have more success with the better engine, but I cannot wait for that top gun.

Pz Sfl IVb (Tier IV SPG German) – elited. Not played in January.

Hummel (Tier VI SPG German) – elited. Not played in January and currently without a crew.

GW Panther (Tier VII SPG German) – researching. Still learning about how best to use this on various maps.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. Just a single game. .

Light Mk VIc (Tier II Light UK) – premium. Unplayed.

Covenanter (Tier IV Light UK) – elited. This can be a very effective tank, though one should be prepared to use premium in certain situations. I did not expect to enjoy this tank as much as I have. Indeed I am seriously considering keeping it for the time being, and getting a fresh crew on the Valentine.

Matilda (Tier IV Medium UK) – elited. Tier IV behemoth.

Churchill I (Tier V Heavy UK) – unplayed.

Excelsior (Tier V Heavy UK) – premium. Unplayed.

Alecto (Tier IV TD UK) – unplayed.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. Not played in January.

T7 Combat Car (Tier II Light USA) – premium. As yet unplayed.

M5 Stuart (Tier IV Light USA) – fully upgraded. A single game. I really ought to try and get more games into this and the M5A1.

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. A few matches just ticking things over.

M7 (Tier V Medium USA) – unplayed.

Ram-II (Tier V Medium USA) – premium. Unplayed in January.

M4A3E2 Sherman Jumbo (Tier VI Medium USA) – fully upgraded. Only about 9k to go to elite it. I still very much enjoy it.

M4A3E8 Sherman (Tier VI Medium USA) – fully upgraded. Going to research the Jackson from this. So far so good, but it does not stand out like the Jumbo. The crew on this will probably move to the T20 in due course, and then start over with a new crew.

T14 (Tier V Heavy USA) – premium. Just one average game.

M6 (Tier VI Heavy USA) – elited. The crew is now on the T29, and I have put a 75% crew onto this. I will train this crew up to be my permanent T29 crew, as the crew currently on my T29 is going to progress up the US Heavy line.

T29 (Tier VII Heavy USA) – researching. Got in a good few games. I used free experience to unlock the tracks, and now have the top gun gone. Currently researching the turret, then engines, then radio. All in all enough to keep me busy.

T49 (Tier V TD USA) – unplayed.

M10 Wolverine (Tier V TD USA) – unplayed.

M3 Light (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

T-127 (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. This is rapidly turning into my favourite low-tier premium.

LTP (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

T-80 (Tier IV Light USSR) – unplayed.

Valentine II (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Not played January.

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – elited. Not played in January.

Matilda IV (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Not played in

T-34-85 (Tier VI Medium USSR) – researching. Not played in January

A-43 (Tier VI Medium USSR) – fully upgraded. Just a single game.

Churchill III (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Some games helping train the IS-4 crew.

KV-220 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Played right this can soak up massive amounts of damage, though it struggles to dish it out.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. First crew skill is now 97-98%. I am having lots of fun with it.

T-150 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – researching. Not played in January

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Used in platoons a few times, where it can be especially fearsome. The sight of 3 platooned KV-1Ss is never welcome.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. My last game of January was in this tank – and alas it was a poor game.

IS (Tier VII Heavy USSR) – elited. Currently not crewed as I have just moved the crew onto the IS-3. I do intend to keep it in the garage for some time however, and I will move a crew onto it in the next few months. Just not yet sure which.

IS-3 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – researching. Already had everything apart from tracks and turret researched. I could fit everything, including equipment, without having to update the tracks so the turret is my first priority. Only played five games. So far – I can see why it is well liked. I am very much looking forward to the turret.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – elited. A few games whilst platooning with clan-mates.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Played a lot earlier in the month, will probably try to have one good spell at it this month whilst I try to pay for the IS-4.

ST-I (Tier IX Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. Less than 7k xp to go to unlock the IS-4.I do love this tank.

SU-85 (Tier V TD USSR) – elited. Only a single game. Not a crew-training priority whilst not actively playing the SU-100.

SU-100 (Tier VI TD USSR) – researching. Not played in January.

SU-100Y (Tier VI TD USSR) – premium. Not played in January.

SU-26 (Tier III SPG USSR) – researching. Not played in January.

Renault Otsu (Tier I Light Japan) – elited. A good little tank, which I have been playing trying to get that elusive Ace Tanker.

Type 95 Ha-Go (Tier II Light Japan) – unplayed.

Chi-Ni (Tier II Medium Japan) – elited. Also trying for the Ace Tanker on this. Poor gun selection.

Bought this month: Type 95 Ha-Go, Chi-Ni, IS-3

Sold this month: None

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 7834 (+390)
Victories – 4413 56.33% (+231 +0.15%)
Defeats – 3344 42.69% (+159 -0.1%)
Draws – 77 0.98% (+0 -0.05%)
Survived – 2378 30.35% (+131 +0.16%)

Destroyed – 9523 (+491)
Detected – 9525 (+533)
Hit Ratio – 69.81% (+0.4%)
Damage – 5,199,817 (+381,665)
Damage Received – 4,146,631 (+304,295)
Total Experience – 4,465,383 (+284,376)

New Efficiency – 1203 (+14)
WN6 Rating – 1359 (+18)
WN7 Rating – 1414 (+22)
Average Tier – 4.91 (+0.06)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.22 (unch)
Average Damage/Battle – 663 (+13)
Average Kills/Death – 1.75 (+0.01)
Damage ratio – 1.25 (unch)
Spotted/Battle – 1.22 (+0.01)

Achievements:

Bilotte’s Medal – 1
De Langlade’s Medal – 2
Halonen’s Medal – 8
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Lehväslaiho’s Medal – 1
Pascucci’s Medal – 5
Pool’s Medal – 1
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2

Brothers in Arms – 9 (+2)
Crucial Contribution 2

Defender – 25 (+3)
Patrol Duty – 17 (+1)
Invader – 2
Scout – 21
Sniper – 355 (+25)
Steel Wall – 146 (+16)
Confederate – 56 (+6)
Top Gun – 133 (+11)

Master Gunner – 81
Hunter – 3
Reaper – 7
Kamikaze – 8
The Lion of Sinai – 2
Sharpshooter – 478
Cool-Headed – 45 (+6)
Lucky – 5
Spartan – 30 (+7)

Abram’s II Class 2796 to go (-121)
Carius’ II Class 477 to go (-461)
Ekins II Class 2272 to go (-70)
Kay’s II Class 245 to go (-52)
Knispel’s II Class 653,552 to go (-685,960)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 21,009 to go (-738)
Leclerc’s II Class 19,717 to go (-536)
Popel’s II Class 10,475 to go (-533)

Top 10 Tanks Overall:
Marder II – 1268 (61,12%)
KV-5 – 470 (56,17%)
KV-1 – 462 (54,55%)
KV-4 – 288 (52,43%)
Hetzer – 204 (55,88%)
Panzer IV – 196 (63,78%)
ST-I – 191 (56,02%)
M4 Sherman – 169 (57,99%)
KV-2 – 165 (55,15%)
Jagdpanther – 161 (55,9%)

Top 10 Tanks in January:
ST-I – 43
Panther – 25
KV-5 – 24
ARL V39 – 22
KV-1 – 22
T29 – 22
IS – 21
Covenanter – 19
Marder 38T – 17
Renault Otsu – 17

Total Number of Tanks played in January: 41

Comment

Personally I find my stats to be quite heartening. Despite playing a much higher proportion of higher-tier games many key indicators are either stable (kills/battle, kills/death, damage ratio) or increasing (damage/battle, accuracy, survival). Of the last three the increase of damage is partly a result of more higher-tier battles, but the continued increase in accuracy and survival is also heartening. I will be very happy if I manage to work that up to above 70%.

I also appear to have broken the logjam that was occurring with my Efficiency rating. The nice thing about getting above 1200 is that my name will now appear green in XVM to those who have people marked by efficiency. Not that this will stop people insulting you, of course, but it does mean some people will give you the benefit of the doubt. Now I just have to work at keeping it improving again.

My two First Class career medals should be attainable in February if I manage to have a reasonable amount of tanking. The change to the Sniper medal may mean the progression of Kay’s medal slows, since it is by far the easiest to currently attain. I would also like to see if I could get my survival above 30.5% in February, but we shall have to see how it happens.

Leave a Reply

