WoT: January 2014 Report

Overall

This post ended up being rather delayed by illness that got through most of my family in the days around and immediately following the New Year. The figures in the stat section, however, are all current as of the 1st January.

December has not been as successful as I hoped back at the start of the month, and I have not achieved all that I desired. This has less to do with the holidays, than with a series of ailments affecting both myself and my daughter that has both cut into my playing time, but also my playing ability – you are not at your best on just a couple of hours’ sleep.

Nevertheless I have managed to have fun, which is the chief object of the exercise. Hopefully this period of ill health will pass, and I will be better able to improve my game going forward as well. It is not as if the last fortnight or so has been bereft of achievement either.

In this last period my gameplay has also been dominated by the Christmas offers, in particular the IS-6 missions. Even though I am not going for the IS-6 myself, given my limited game time I have been grinding the Tier VIs has been a fairly major occupation.

I am going to do a kind of New Year Resolution-style post of what I would like to get out of the year, but as far as January is concerned I am hoping to complete some of the grinds that have started as a result of the IS-6 missions, and also perhaps get the IS-4 – though that might be pushed into February.

Garage Trip

M5A1 Stuart(Tier IV Light Chinese) – unplayed.

AMX 40 (Tier IV Light French) – unplayed.

B1 (Tier IV Heavy French) – elited. I have actually had some success in the B1, though it does require being prepared to use premium shells. I am just now waiting to sell it off.

BDR G1B (Tier V Heavy French) – unplayed. Just acquired as part of the March of Nations special.

S-35 CA (Tier V TD French) – elited. Not yet played since re-acquisition.

ARL V39 (Tier VI TD French) – fully upgraded. There are just some maps I really struggle on. Also had a recent pronounced losing streak. While it can be effective, I will be glad when I am done with it.

Leichttraktor (Tier I Light German) elited. Only played one game in December.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. Not played in December.

Panzer I Ausf. C (Tier II Light German) – elited. Not played in December.

T-15 (Tier III Light German) – premium. Not played in December.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier V Light German) – elited. Not played in December.

Pz S35 739f (Tier III Medium German) – premium. Not played in December.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. Not played in December.

Panzer IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. I think the crew from this tank will probably end up in the E-50, as and when I get that far.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Not played in December.

VK3001D (Tier VI Medium German) – researching. Just got the turret left to research, and that this is fully upgraded. So far I am enjoying it very much. In particular I am enjoying the experience of decent gun depression on a German tank!

VK3002M (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. Finally managed the 1st Class medal in this tank as part of the IS-6 mission, which shows generally how much I have struggled in it.

Panzer V Panther (Tier VII Medium German) – fully upgraded. A good sniper, but I sometimes get into trouble by being too aggressive. .

Durchbruchswagen 2 (Tier IV Heavy German) – unplayed.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Not played in December.

VK3001H (Tier V Heavy German) – elited. Not played in December.

VK3601H (Tier VI Heavy German) – elited. Recently acquired for the IS-6 special mission. Also going to use it to train a crew up for one of the higher tier German heavies. So far not so bad to see this tank in its heavy configuration.

Panzer VI Tiger (Tier VII Heavy German) – elited. Not played in December.

Tiger P (Tier VII Heavy German) – elited. Just the one game this month.

VK4502P Ausf. A (Tier VIII Heavy German) – unplayed.

Marder 38T (Tier IV TD German) – elited. A good tank destroyer, and I can see why some folks say it reminds them of the old pre 7.5 (I think) Marder II, but I have no intentions to keep it.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. Just a few games for the fun of the derp.

Stug III (Tier V TD German) – elited. Again, just a few games trying to get used to it again.

Dicker Max (Tier VI TD German) – premium. A reliable money spinner.

Ferdinand (Tier VIII TD German) – researching. I could research the top engine now, but I am holding off because credits are too valuable.

Pz Sfl IVb (Tier IV SPG German) – elited. I am seriously tempted to keep this little gem of an SPG. Its gun arc is truly insane for a SPG.

Hummel (Tier VI SPG German) – elited. Currently uncrewed as I have moved the crew onto the GW Panther. Not sure whether to keep it or sell it off.

GW Panther (Tier VII SPG German) – researching. This SPG has a very good reputation, and I can see why. A good gun arc, and I now have the top gun. Excellent fun.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. Not played in December.

Light Mk VIc (Tier II Light UK) – premium. The most recent gift tank, and as yet unplayed.

Covenanter (Tier IV Light UK) – unplayed.

Matilda (Tier IV Medium UK) – elited. Just one game this month.

Churchill I (Tier V Heavy UK) – unplayed.

Excelsior (Tier V Heavy UK) – premium. Part of my Christmas purchase. As yet unplayed.

Alecto (Tier IV TD UK) – unplayed.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. Not played in December.

T7 Combat Car (Tier II Light USA) – premium. As yet unplayed.

M5 Stuart (Tier IV Light USA) – fully upgraded. A few games, still learning.

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. A couple of matches only.

M7 (Tier V Medium USA) – unplayed.

Ram-II (Tier V Medium USA) – premium. Playing on and off helping train up the M4A3E2 crew.

M4A3E2 Sherman Jumbo (Tier VI Medium USA) – fully upgraded. Just got my Ace Tanker medal. If you get the angling right on the turret this tank is a beast. Get flanked and it is nothing more than cannon fodder.

M4A3E8 Sherman (Tier VI Medium USA) – fully upgraded. Acquired for the IS-6 missions. So far just finding my feet with it.

T14 (Tier V Heavy USA) – premium. Another part of Christmas, and also unplayed.

M6 (Tier VI Heavy USA) – elited. I will move the crew onto the T29 when the IS-6 mission is done, but I will keep this tank and use it to train another crew. A great tank.

T29 (Tier VII Heavy USA) – unplayed.

T49 (Tier V TD USA) – unplayed.

M10 Wolverine (Tier V TD USA) – unplayed.

M3 Light (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

T-127 (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Just one game this month, a great low-tier premium.

LTP (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

T-80 (Tier IV Light USSR) – unplayed.

Valentine II (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Not played December.

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – elited. Not played in December.

Matilda IV (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. A few more matches. I have yet to get the hang of this one.

T-34-85 (Tier VI Medium USSR) – researching. I have managed a few games as part of the IS-6 missions, but the tank is still mostly stock so impossible to hold an opinion on it so far.

A-43 (Tier VI Medium USSR) – fully upgraded. Sometimes I love this tank, and sometimes I loathe it. I have had some good games, and some absolutely horrendous ones.

Churchill III (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. A few more games. I like to think I am getting a better feel for it, but that is probably wishful thinking.

KV-220 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. The real Christmas present. Unplayed as yet, I suspect this tank will be very good at Tier V, and very frustrating at Tier VII.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. I have the new crew up to 100% now, and will continue to play it regularly to further develop the crew ready for its next use.

T-150 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – researching. Played a handful of games as part of the IS-6 special. The crew I will train up for use on another higher-tier Russian heavy at some point.

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Properly elited once more, I am having so much more success with this tank now than when I did the first time. I think that hopefully shows my improvement as a player.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Sometimes one just has to unleash the M-10 howitzer.

IS (Tier VII Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. Just over half-way to the IS-3.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – elited. A few games whilst platooning with clan-mates.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Still my main money-spinner.

ST-I (Tier IX Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. About two-thirds done to the IS-4. My absolutely new most favourite tank in the game.

SU-85 (Tier V TD USSR) – elited. Not played in December.

SU-100 (Tier VI TD USSR) – researching. So far I am enjoying this tank, but there is plenty yet to research.

SU-100Y (Tier VI TD USSR) – premium. Very useful crew trainer.

SU-26 (Tier III SPG USSR) – researching. Not played in December.

Bought this month: GW Panther, M10 Wolverine, T29, VK3001D, VK3601H, BDR G1B

Sold this month: D2, VK2001D, Panzer III/IV, T40

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 7444 (+524)
Victories – 4182 56.18% (+304 +0.14%)
Defeats – 3185 (+215 -0.12%)
Draws – 77 1.03% (+5 -0.01%)
Survived – 2247 (+171 +0.19%)

Destroyed – 9062 (+603)
Detected – 8992 (+554)
Hit Ratio – 69.41% (+0.33%)
Damage – 4,818,152 (+466,373)
Damage Received – 3,842,336 (+383,752)
Total Experience – 4,181,007 (+356,660)

New Efficiency – 1189 (-1)
WN6 Rating – 1341 (+11)
WN7 Rating – 1392 (+18)
Average Tier – 4.85 (+0.1)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.22(unch)
Average Damage/Battle – 647 (+19)
Average Kills/Death – 1.74 (-0.01)
Damage ratio – 1.25 (-0.01)
Spotted/Battle – 1.21 (-0.01)

Achievements:

Bilotte’s Medal – 1
De Langlade’s Medal – 2
Halonen’s Medal – 8
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Lehväslaiho’s Medal – 1 (+1)
Pascucci’s Medal – 5 (+1)
Pool’s Medal – 1 (+1)
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2

Brothers in Arms – 7 (+3)
Crucial Contribution 2 (+2)

Defender – 22 (+1)
Patrol Duty – 16
Invader – 2
Scout – 21
Sniper – 330 (+30)
Steel Wall – 130 (+12)
Confederate – 50 (+4)
Top Gun – 132 (+6)

Master Gunner – 81
Hunter – 3
Reaper – 7
Kamikaze – 8 (+1)
The Lion of Sinai – 2 (+1)
Sharpshooter – 478
Cool-Headed – 39 (+4)
Lucky – 5 (+1)
Spartan – 23

Abram’s II Class 2917 to go (-160)
Carius’ II Class 938 to go (-603)
Ekins II Class 2342 to go (-120)
Kay’s II Class 297 to go (-53)
Knispel’s II Class 1,339,512 to go (-849,855)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 21,747 to go (-548)
Leclerc’s II Class 20,253 to go (-513)
Popel’s II Class 11,008 to go (-554)

Top 10 Tanks Overall:
Marder II – 1268 (61,12%)
KV-5 – 446 (56,28%)
KV-1 – 440 (53,86%)
KV-4 – 284 (52,82%)
Hetzer – 203 (55,67%)
Panzer IV – 196 (63,78%)
M4 Sherman – 166 (57,83%)
KV-2 – 163 (55,21%)
Jagdpanther – 161 (55,9%)
Hummel – 154 (53,25%)

Top 10 Tanks in December:
ST-I – 66
ARL V39 – 44
Panzer III/IV – 30
KV-5 – 28
KV-1 – 24
B1 – 24
M6 – 22
A-43 – 20
GW Panther – 19
IS – 18
Marder 38T – 18

Total Number of Tanks played in December: 40

Comment

If my stat snapshot was taken at Christmas, rather than New Year, several indicators here would be showing raises instead of declines: efficiency, kills/death, and damage ratio; and my win-rate would have been a fair bit higher too. Alas the last week of December was not kind.

Overall though it is starting to feel like I am in some sort of holding pattern when it comes to these stats. I think my opinion from last month generally stands – I am generally improving but for various reasons my stats are staying flat as I figure stuff out – but that makes it no less irritating. I mean, I know more now about the weakspots of various tanks than I have ever done so, but while the benefit is starting to come through in win rate it is not yet so much in other factors.

I also think there is an element here too that I still have to work better on my survival. I think if I can boost my survival up towards 35% I will almost inevitably see a big increase in my effectiveness. The thing is this is going to be a long slow process, but it is one I am sure will be worth it.

Otherwise it looks I will get my first two First Class career medals early in the New Year – almost certainly February rather than January. I hope as well that now I will be, once again, playing tanks I want to play rather than I have to play (once I have the last of the premium days done) I won’t be as susceptible to trying to force things.

 

Leave a Reply

