Personal: Roots

Today I did something I have wanted to do for a very long time – my wife and I visited the village of St.Cleer where I grew up. It lies on the southern edge of Bodmin Moor, in Cornwall. It has been over twenty years since I lived there, and almost ten years since my Granny (who continued to live there after we moved) passed away, yet the moment we were on the road the led into the village I felt at home. It is the one place of which I can honestly say “This is where I come from – this place nurtured me and helped me grow, a refuge from the storm of life”.

For all that it has been a while since I was last there, and I must admit to feeling rather curious since. There is a part of me that deeply misses Cornwall, and the act of going back this last week has reminded me just how deep the missing is.

Twenty years, but still the roots are there, deep as the granite that the village rests on.

Leave a Reply

