Overall

The big event during the last month has been the release of the 8.6 update, with the rebalancing of artillery, accuracy, and armour. Mmm, just realised that would make it a triple-A update. 🙂 Bad jokes aside, this appears to have gone very well and I am enjoying myself. Due to various reasons I did get fewer games in this month, pretty much as expected.

In my personal play the biggest project I have undertaken has been starting to play the Tigers, which has proven interesting. In general I am finding the regular Panzer VI Tiger much easier to play than the Tiger P, but time will tell whether that remains the case. I have also played through the T-60 and T-70 light tanks, which I have thoroughly enjoyed.

The credit grind for the ST-I continues, but feels like it is nearing its end, and will most likely be acquired last this month. Assuming that to be the case, I think I am going to relax a little on the credit grind and try and get some more SPG and scout tank playing time. Scout tanks in particular are a continuing weakness of mine, and the more SPG I play the more I reckon to know where the arty-safe positions tend to be.

Meanwhile on Sunday I had a totally different “world of tanks” experience – namely Tankfest. I will be doing a separate post about it, but in short I enjoyed myself very greatly. It was a very good experience, and saw lots and lots of tanks, including of course the renowned Tiger. In particular some of my favourite vehicles from the game were present, and I must admit feeling very much like a I was five years old in a sweet shop with an unlimited budget. Also visiting the Wargaming stand and got a little token for another low-tier premium and a bit of gold. All good fun.

Garage Trip

Type 2597 Chi-Ha (Tier III Light Chinese) – unplayed.

AMX 38 (Tier III Light French) – fully upgraded. Going to be my next Tier III to work through.

ARL V39 (Tier VI TD French) – unplayed.

Leichttraktor (Tier I Light German) elited. The crew is now all at 100% and starting to work on the first skill. Very much famine or feast it seems to be in terms of results, however.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. I have heard its matchmaking weight was reduced somewhat, which should help better balance this tank now that it sees more tank destroyers.

Panzer I Ausf. C (Tier II Light German) – unplayed.

T-15 (Tier III Light German) – premium. Had a few games in this now, and good games too.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier V Light German) – elited. Unplayed in June.

Pz S35 739f (Tier III Medium German) – premium. Not yet played.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. Great fun.

VK2001D (Tier IV Medium German) – unplayed.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Unplayed in June

VK3001H (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. This and the Panzer III are my current go-to tanks when my slower-tanks start to get on my nerves

Panzer V Panther (Tier VII Medium German) – unplayed.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Unplayed in June.

Panzer VI Tiger (Tier VII Heavy German) – researching. Only have the tracks to go. Seemed to have adapted to this tank quite well, generally tending to stay second line support.

Tiger P (Tier VII Heavy German) – fully upgraded. Struggling with the Tiger P. Just doesn’t seem to click with me yet.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Third crew skill is now at 95% and just over two-thirds of the way to 96%. In total about 150k or so experience to go.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. The HEAT nerf has not really negated this tank – the ordinary HE shells are devastatingly effective.

Ferdinand (Tier VIII TD German) – unplayed.

Hummel (Tier VI SPG German) – elited. Changed overnight to a Tier VI. Played a couple of games. Considering retaining this as my standard SPG as I do quite like it.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. Unplayed in June.

Covenanter (Tier IV Light UK) – unplayed.

Medium Mk III (Tier III Medium UK) – fully upgraded. Large, and therefore an easy target. If you adapt to that fact however can be very effective.

Universal Carrier 2-pdr (Tier II TD UK) – elited. Will be selling on shortly.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. Still not played.

M5 Stuart (Tier IV Light USA) – fully upgraded. Not played in June

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. I have switched back to the 76mm M1A1. Brothers in Arms now at 100%, and I am considering retaining it.

Ram-II (Tier V Medium USA) – premium. Not played in June.

M6 (Tier VI Heavy USA) – researching. Not played in June.

T40 (Tier IV TD USA) – unplayed.

M8A1 (Tier IV TD USA) – researching. Not played in June.

M3 Light (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Tankfest bonus tank.

T-127 (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

Valentine II (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Not played this last month

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – elited. Played a bit more with the Bagration offer. Very versatile.

Matilda IV (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Not played in June.

T-34-85 (Tier VI Medium USSR) – unplayed. Recently acquired on special offer.

Churchill III (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Not played in June.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. Not played in June.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Amongst the HEAT-nerf whining especially strong has been moans about the howitzer losing its HEAT ammunition. As if 900 average HE damage is not enough. Really looking forward to how this tank handles with the accuracy buff.

IS (Tier VII Heavy USSR) – unplayed.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – elited. Still playing a few battles to keep my hand in higher tier matches.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. So far managing to hide the weakspot enough to get some serious credits. It is interesting actually though how often people do not aim at the weakspot.

SU-85B (Tier IV TD USSR) – elited. Not played in June.

SU-85 (Tier V TD USSR) – researching. Almost got the main gun now – one more half-decent game to go.

SU-26 (Tier III SPG USSR) – researching. Not played in June.

Bought this month: T-60, Panzer I Ausf. C, Type 2597 Chi-Ha, VK2001D, IS, Covenanter, Panzer V Panther, T-70, T-34-85, M3 Light (gift).

Sold this month: Jagdpanther, Panzer II G, VAE Type B, KV-1S, Cruiser Mk IV, VK3601H, T-60

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 5406 (+263)
Victories – 3027 55.99% (+158 +0.21%)
Defeats – 2322 42.95% (+103 -0.2%)
Draws – 57 1.05% (+2 -0.02%)
Survived – 1623 30.02% (+85 +0.12%)

Destroyed – 6595 (+385)
Hit Ratio – 68%
Damage – 3,212,838 (+182,797)
Total Experience – 2,826,218 (+172,502)

Old Efficiency – 1253 (+9)
New Efficiency – 1187 (+10)
WN6 Rating – 1295 (+18)
WN7 Rating – 1329 (+22)
Average Tier – 4.6 (+0.06)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.22 (+0.01)
Average Damage/Battle – 594 (+5)
Average Kills/Death – 1.74 (+0.02)

Achievements:

Bilotte’s Medal – 1
De Langlade’s Medal – 1
Halonen’s Medal – 5
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Pascucci’s Medal – 4
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2

Brothers in Arms – 1
Defender – 17 (+2)
Patrol Duty – 12 (+5)
Invader – 1
Scout – 14 (+3)
Sniper – 220 (+11)
Steel Wall – 84 (+5)
Confederate – 31 (+5)
Top Gun – 98 (+8)

Master Gunner – 27
Hunter – 2 (+1)
Reaper – 7
Cool-Headed – 10 (+2)
Kamikaze – 7 (+1)
Lucky – 2
The Lion of Sinai – 1
Spartan – 12 (+4)
Sharpshooter – 39

Abram’s II Class 3504 to go (-75)
Carius’ II Class 3405 to go (-385)
Ekins II Class 2651 to go (-29)
Kay’s II Class 523 to go (-39)
Knispel’s II Class 4,312,263 to go (-353,237)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 24,008 to go (-425)
Leclerc’s II Class 21,881 to go (-346)
Popel’s II Class 13,676 to go (-431)

Top 10 Tanks Overall:
Marder II – 1153 (703-441)
KV-1 – 359 (192-162)
KV-5 – 344 (193-147)
KV-4 – 217 (112-101)
Hetzer – 165 (90-75)
Jagdpanther – 161 (90-70)
Panzer IV – 160 (104-56)
KV-3 – 151 (85-63)
M4 Sherman – 134 (75-59)
Hummel – 127 (66-59)

Top 10 Tanks in Garage:
Marder II – 1153 (703-441)
KV-1 – 359 (192-162)
KV-5 – 344 (193-147)
KV-4 – 217 (112-101)
Hetzer – 165 (90-75)
M4 Sherman – 134 (75-59)
Hummel – 127 (66-59)
KV-2 – 123 (69-52)
Panzer III – 112 (55-55)
VK3001H – 100 (55-45)

Top 10 Tanks in May:
Marder II – 44
Panzer VI Tiger P – 38
KV-5 – 34
Panzer VI Tiger – 29
Leichttraktor – 28
Cruiser Mk IV – 16
T-70 – 16
T-60 – 11
M4 Sherman – 9
T-34 – 9

Total Number of Tanks played in May: 21

Comment

I said last month I wished to improve my survival rating – and I did. Now that it is over 30% I just have to try and keep it there. I also believe this is the highest win rate I ever had, so must be careful not to let it go to my brain. Overall most the metrics continue to rise in the same slow fashion they have done, pretty much since I started measuring them. The one area that really bucked the trend was damage per battle, where it increased by far less than it generally has. Generally I am going to attribute that as a by-product of (a) quite a number of lower-tier games with associated lower damage totals and (b) my struggles in the Tiger P, where my average damage is actually lower than my career average damage at 589 (in comparison on the regular Tiger my average damage is 874 as of writing).

In terms of career the second Hunter medal was quite nice, and I am sort-of expecting to get a second Lion of Sinai soon. Indeed I reckon these will sooner become more regular occurrences as I continue to play more higher level tanks. I found it interesting that all the top 10 tanks in my garage currently have at least 100 games – but when I sell off the KV-4 that will not be the case. Also the KV-5 is about to overtake the KV-1. Meanwhile I find it odd to reflect that in one tank alone – my Marder II – I have played more battles than almost 90% of the playerbase. Food for thought.

4 comments
  1. Good morning,

    Congratulation for your achievements and especially for the win rate, 56% is amazing. In my Xantya account I am just above 47% and it seems that losing streaks are the only followers. Ok, I have 58,22% on Shun_Tzu at 1350 battles, I just switched all tanks this weekend at tier IV, I have 12 tanks now, so is about sealclubing not performance.

    Gratz again,

    Good luck and have fun,

    Shun_Tzu

    • Well there is no doubt that my win rate is boosted a bit by all the games I have on the Marder II. On the other hand, I like to think that the win rate overall has continued to rise even as I do play more higher tier vehicles. We shall see if I can continue to maintain it however.

      Tier IV might be my favourite tier in the game.

  2. My bad, I read again what I wrote before and indeed someone can come to a conclusion that I suggested that your stats are boosted by lower tiers. This was not my intention. Really, I don’t tried to minimalize your achievements.

    You have many battles at higher tiers with both Tigers and both KVs and I doubt that your Marder II have so high win ration in order to cover the loses of all others tanks.
    For me Marder II is only about the gun, in rest no turret, crap armor, low HP and can be killed easily by snipers, speedy tanks, rammers or derp guns. I can’t stand the tank destroyers without turret, but I see you have success in them.

    Don’t get me wrong, I made the initial comment only to congratulate you.

    Have fun,

    Shun_Tzu,

    • Oh, I wasn’t saying you were criticising me! I was deflecting your congratulations, because I personally think the 56% is a little flattering – in other words I was criticising myself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

