WoT: June 2013 Report

Overall

This time last month I was feeling a little despondent about how things were going, but after I went through the figures I discovered my record had improved in various metrics. This gave me a boost of confidence, and almost immediately thereafter my win rate started to improve again. All in all, a good example of sometimes how some statistical analysis can actually improve one’s mood. Another good example as well of how win rate is not everything.

The other main thing that has happened in May that I have completed a number of tank research projects that I have been engaged upon for some time. In particular the KV-1S, VK3001H, and Jagdpanther have now all been elited. In each of their lines I am now ready to acquire and move onto the next tank. This also means that I am ready to switch to my Tiger project, which will see me playing both the regular Tiger, and the Porsche Tiger, ultimately so I can compare both tanks at the same time. I am very much looking forward to it.

Meanwhile I am in the business of building up credits so I can acquire the ST-I, which will be my first Tier IX. Apart from tanks on discount, or low-tier tanks that do not cost much, the ST-I is my next tank. Its price is 3.5 million credits. I am intending to wait until I have 5 million credits to acquire it (currently I have just under three million). Depending on other tanks coming up on special offer I probably will be able to buy the tank towards to end of June.

I am thinking of starting to do smaller, weekly, round-up posts of where I am with various tanks in addition to this more detailed monthly report. Again, this is at least mostly for my own purposes, a chance to take stock of how things are going. This is partly driven by the fact I completely missed my 5000th match until well after it had taken place. After 5000 matches I am feeling that, while I am experienced in some situations, there is plenty yet for me to learn.

Looking ahead the big deal on the horizon is the 8.6 update. I am working on a post about all the very many changes this update is bringing to the game. There is a lot going on 😉 .

Garage Trip

VAE Type B (Tier II Light Chinese) – elited. Still playing a few games in preparation to write a report, but finding this tank quite an enjoyable one to play.

AMX 38 (Tier III Light French) – fully upgraded. Not played in May.

ARL V39 (Tier VI TD French) – unplayed.

Leichttracktor (Tier I Light German) elited. I have gotten a few games in the Leichttracktor now, including my first ever kills. Back when I started playing WoT it was not until the Panzer 35t (as I recall) that I had my first kill. Rather more sprightly than I recalled.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. A little crew training for the Leichttracktor.

Panzer II Ausf. G (Tier II Light German) – elited. Did not get on with it at all. Will be selling shortly for the Panzer I Ausf. C.

T-15 (Tier III Light German) – premium. Not yet played.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier V Light German) – elited. Unplayed in May.

Pz S35 739f (Tier III Medium German) – premium. Not yet played.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. Still one of my favourite tanks – I always get a smile when it gets an earnings bonus on a special offer.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Only a couple of battles in May.

VK3001H (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. Going to keep it on for the time being. If there is one tank that has made me appreciate the aggressive medium playstyle this is it.

VK3601H (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. Not going to keep it, and the crew will be moving onto a Panther as and when I get one.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Unplayed in May. Now I am going to start playing the Tigers I may take it out for a spin now and then for a little extra crew training (for commanders, drivers, and radio operators anyway).

Panzer VI Tiger (Tier VII Heavy German) – unplayed. However, now my other projects are completed the Tigers are due for playtime in June.

Tiger P (Tier VII Heavy German) – unplayed. See above.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Third crew skill is now almost at 93%. That means 233k or so experience to go. I appear to be on-track for completing the third skill some time in August. The crew double experience specials are proving helpful.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. Another tank in the “I wish I had more time” category.

Jagdpanther (Tier VII TD German) – elited. Once I have written my report I will be selling this on. I have never known a tank where my losses have accumulated such streaks.

Ferdinand (Tier VIII TD German) – unplayed. Acquired on special offer, waiting for the crew from the Jagdpanther.

Hummel (Tier V SPG German) – elited. Putting off getting Tier VI artillery until the arty revamp that is going to occur in 8.6. With it included in this weekend’s offer going to try and get in some playtime.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. A great low-tier tank. Still having a blast with this one when I desire some low-tier speed.

Cruiser Mk IV (Tier III Light UK) – elited. A strange tank in that it probably performs most reliably well with its stock gun. I wonder if the accuracy changes for 8.6 are going to make multiple-shot autoloaders more effective.

Medium Mk III (Tier III Medium UK) – researching. Actually had a couple of battles in this tank as it happened. It may be crazy, but it felt a but like playing a T1 Heavy.

Universal Carrier 2-pdr (Tier II TD UK) – elited. Will be selling on shortly.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. Still not played. Realistically that is unlikely to change until I pick up the US Lights again.

M5 Stuart (Tier IV Light USA) – fully upgraded. Not playing in May.

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. I read a comment somewhere in the last day or so about how the HEAT change is going to make the HEAT-derps utterly ineffective – until someone pointed out to him that tanks like the M4 Sherman with HE were pretty feared before HEAT ammo became available. I rarely use HEAT, and have had good success. Almost have 100% in the first crew skill, which has been my aim with the Sherman for a long time now.

Ram-II (Tier V Medium USA) – premium. Had a few matches so far, and very impressed. You don’t see it much on the battlefield, but it is surprisingly durable.

M6 (Tier VI Heavy USA) – researching. Had a few games when this tank was part of the interactive special. I have had good experiences so far. The first aim was to upgrade the tracks as it could not fit any equipment. This has been done now, and now I am unlocking the next gun.

T40 (Tier IV TD USA) – unplayed.

M8A1 (Tier IV TD USA) – researching. Not played in May.

T-127 (Tier III Light USSR) – premium. Not yet played.

Valentine II (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Not played this last month

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – elited. Played lots with this tank with its Tank of the Month Status, and made a lot of credits. It has no outstanding feature – just a good overall tank.

Matilda IV (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Not played in May.

Churchill III (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Had a couple of matches. My record in it is so far subpar.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. Experimented again with the derp, but once again generally unhappy. When I next get it out will switch to AP.

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. I enjoyed it, and really probably should have used a different gun. However, will now be moving on.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Amongst the HEAT-nerf whining especially strong has been moans about the howitzer losing its HEAT ammunition. As if 900 average HE damage is not enough. Really looking forward to how this tank handles with the accuracy buff.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – elited. Still playing a few battles to keep my hand in higher tier matches.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Played more often this month as focusing a little more on credit-earning. Being able to hide the weakspot is, I think, going to become very important once 8.6 hits. On the other hand, if one does manage to do that I think this tank is going to start to absorb quite a bit more punishment.

SU-85B (Tier IV TD USSR) – elited. Had a few games just for fun this month. Packs a mean punch.

SU-85 (Tier V TD USSR) – researching. Working on the main gun, but only played during a special offer.

SU-26 (Tier III SPG USSR) – researching. Not played in May.

Bought this month: T-15, Pz S35 739f, Ram-II, T-127, VAE Type B

Sold this month: A-20, Renault NC-31, S-35 CA

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 5143 (+311)
Victories – 2869 55.78% (+189 +0.32%)
Defeats – 2219 43.15% (+121 -0.27%)
Draws – 55 1.07% (+1 -0.05%)
Survived – 1538 29.9% (+59 +0.04%)

Destroyed – 6210 (+415)
Hit Ratio – 68% (+1)
Damage – 3,030,041 (+256,664)
Total Experience – 2,653,716 (+200,445)

Old Efficiency – 1244 (+7)
New Efficiency – 1177 (+9)
WN6 Rating – 1277 (+23)
WN7 Rating – 1307 (+26)
Average Tier – 4.54 (+0.05)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.21 (+0.01)
Average Damage/Battle – 589 (+15)
Average Kills/Death – 1.72 (+0.01)

Achievements:

Bilotte’s Medal – 1
De Langlade’s Medal – 1
Halonen’s Medal – 5
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Pascucci’s Medal – 4 (+1)
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2

Brothers in Arms – 1
Defender – 15 (+1)
Patrol Duty – 7
Invader – 1
Scout – 11 (+1)
Sniper – 209 (+21)
Steel Wall – 79 (+7)
Confederate – 26 (+5)
Top Gun – 90 (+4)

Master Gunner – 27
Hunter – 1
Reaper – 7 (+1)
Cool-Headed – 8 (+2)
Kamikaze – 6
Lucky – 2
The Lion of Sinai (+1)
Spartan – 8 (+1)
Sharpshooter – 39

Abram’s II Class 3579 to go (-91)
Carius’ II Class 3790 to go (-415)
Ekins II Class 2680 to go (-27)
Kay’s II Class 562 to go (-39)
Knispel’s II Class 4,665,500 to go (-441,345)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 24,433  to go (-317)
Leclerc’s II Class 22,227 to go (-329)
Popel’s II Class 14,107 to go (-482)

Top 10 Tanks Overall:
Marder II – 1109 (676-425)
KV-1 – 359 (192-162)
KV-5 – 310 (175-131)
KV-4 – 212 (110-98)
Jagdpanther – 161 (90-70)
Panzer IV – 160 (104-56)
Hetzer – 160 (86-74)
KV-3 – 151 (85-63)
M4 Sherman – 125 (68-57)
Hummel – 120 (61-57)
KV-2 – 120 (67-52)

Top 10 Tanks in Garage:
Marder II – 1109 (676-425)
KV-1 – 359 (192-162)
KV-5 – 310 (175-131)
KV-4 – 212 (110-98)
Jagdpanther – 161 (90-70)
Hetzer – 160 (86-74)
M4 Sherman – 125 (68-57)
Hummel – 120 (61-57)
KV-2 – 120 (67-52)
Panzer III – 111 (55-54)

Top 10 Tanks in May:
Marder II – 44
KV-5 – 39
T-34 – 39
VK3001H – 33
Jagdpanther – 31
KV-1S – 16
M4 Sherman – 16
KV-4 – 14
M6 – 11
UC 2-pdr – 11

Total Number of Tanks played in May: 26

Comment

If one ignores win rate, the stats show I continue slow incremental improvements. I think that is a fairly good state of affairs, though one area I dearly wish to improve on is survival. It is that fine line between recklessness and proper aggressiveness. I am also gratified to see the hit ratio notch higher another point. This particular stat is a very slow one to change now. I hope to eventually get it across the 70% barrier, but that will likely take a while. So as far as these metrics are concerned I feel a quiet satisfaction, but likewise there is nothing here to suggest I can rest on my laurels. I have to keep improving, especially if I wish to retain the same performance in the higher tiers.

In terms of career this last month saw my first Lion of Sinai mark (for killing 100 IS variants) and my getting Kay’s Medal II class. This means I am now pursuing I Class in all the career medals now. I am not going to be getting any of them any time soon however – my guess is Carius and Knispel will be first, sometime next spring. My second level of Hunter should be fairly soon – by a rough count I am around 190 qualifying tanks killed.

In my current Top 10 tanks only 2 entries are tanks I now longer own – the KV-3 and Panzer IV. This is about to change quite drastically however, in that I am expecting to sell both the Jagdpanther and KV-4 in the near future, and possibly the M4 Sherman and Hummel as well. Realising this I have looked again at my lists. I have decided to keep my Top 10 tanks in career list, added a Top 10 tanks in my garage list (though there will obviously be duplication between the two), and expanded the monthly active list to 10 and have an additional entry of how many different tanks I take out in a month. Will be interesting to see how that progresses. In the Top 10 for career this month we have a joint 10th place, making it actually 11 places long.

Finally a mist admit a certain sense of amusement looking at these monthly posts. They are quite a bit of work, but they do scratch a systemising itch I have.

Leave a Reply

