WoT: April 2013 Report

Overall

The most notable event the last month was reaching a thousand games in my Marder II. The other event, which I very much did not mark is that I have now been playing this game for a year. I did briefly consider writing a post about that, but anything I want to say I think can be better expressed in other posts. Ultimately it just didn’t feel an important milestone to me – especially compared to the earlier one – so I just let it pass.

Otherwise my time to play the game remains very much at the mercy of my little bundle of joy – because if the option is between spending time with her and playing tanks she wins hands down – or just sheer tiredness. My intention of concentrated on a somewhat fewer number of tanks is currently working well too, and I have achieved my main aim for march, which was unlocking the Panzer VI Tiger. I didn’t make any progress on my other goal of progressing further on the IS-line – I followed other paths.

Looking forward I still feel desperately still in need of higher-tier experience. I am getting more familiar with the Tier VII tanks, but Tier VIII and above regularly still have the ability to fool me. This should sort itself out naturally, I hope, as I start to play more Tier VII tanks and above.

My aims for April are to unlock the ST-1, progress on both the IS-line and French TD line, play and write about 2-3 Tier II-III tanks, and unlock the Panzer V Panther. Given a likely 250-300 games, probably on the lower side of that range, I think this is possible, but we shall see.

Garage Trip

Renault NC-31 (Tier I Light Chinese) – elited. Still waiting to get around to moving onto the Chinese Tier II.

AMX 38 (Tier III Light French) – fully upgraded. Not played in March.

S-35 CA (Tier V TD French) – full upgraded. Not played in March, but on my to-play list for April.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. Good, slow-moving fun.

Panzer I (Tier II Light German) – fully upgraded. So far played just two battles – both of which were losses.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier V Light German) – elited. Still trying to learn how to be a scout.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. When this tank has an earnings bonus on special offer I get a big smile.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Not played in March, but will likely see more usage with second German medium line.

VK3001H (Tier VI Medium German) – fully upgraded. I am very seriously considering retaining this tank as a Tier VI credit-maker.

VK3601H (Tier VI Medium German) – elited. It is a decent tank, but the more I play it the more I see why this will one day be reclassified as a heavy. I do not think, so far, that it lives up to the hype.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Unplayed in March.

Tiger P (Tier VII Heavy German) – unplayed. Waiting until I acquire the historical Tiger so I can play them alongside each other.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Third crew skill is now at 87% – which means about 382k crew experience to completing the third skill. Will take 3-4 months I think.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. Played only a little – had a game on Friday where someone starting yelling at me because I refused to be an easy target. Said I must have XVM because I was afraid of his stats. Weird thing is the guy has much worse stats than me.

Jagdpanther (Tier VII TD German) – fully researched. Starting to feel like I am getting used to this vehicle. Win rate has risen – though this tank did get hammered badly in the losing streak. It will see a lot of playtime this coming month as it is the Tank of the Month, and I certainly intend to make use of that 30% credit earnings bonus.

Hummel (Tier V SPG German) – elited. Still not sure when to make the jump to Tier VI artillery. Had some poor games as well this last month.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. I am very much enjoying this tank and am playing it regularly.

Cruiser Mk II (Tier III Light UK) – elited. Very soon going to be writing a report about this – success depends on being able to handle the gun.

Medium Mk III (Tier III Medium UK) – researching. Not played in March.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. The Holiday gift, not yet played. Really should get around to doing that.

M5 Stuart (Tier IV Light USA) – fully upgraded. My friend and I have not had much chance to play this last month with one thing or another.

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. I have been experimenting with the derp gun with uneven success.

T1 HT (Tier V Heavy USA) – elited. No desire to keep this one going, despite some good memories. Recently had a great lesson in how being two Tiers below all the big boys in the battle does not stop one from having a major impact.

T40 (Tier IV TD USA) – unplayed. Not yet played.

M8A1 (Tier IV TD USA) – researching. Not played in March

A-20 (Tier IV Light USSR) – elited. Not playing. Waiting to sell when I need the slot.

Valentine II (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Not played this last month

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – fully upgraded. On back-burner.

Matilda LL (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Had a few games of varying success. Trying to not be overbrave.

Churchill LL (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. The front armour is good – but not as good as you think it is.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. Like with the M4 Sherman I am experimenting with the derp.

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. Not played in March, but will be giving it time in April.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Nothing compares to this derp.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. The ST-1 is within reach, and should be unlocked pretty soon. I will continue to play this regularly however even when I have unlocked it – I need to high-tier battle experience.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Purposefully not played as often this last month as I am (for me) currently rolling in credits. Will probably alternate with the KV-4 once the ST-1 is unlocked.

SU-85B (Tier IV TD USSR) – fully upgraded. Not played in March

SU-26 (Tier III SPG USSR) – researching. Not played in March

Bought this month: T40, Panzer I

Sold this month: T82, Panzer II Luchs

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 4552 (+265)
Victories – 2538 55.76% (+157 +0.22%)
Defeats – 1961 43.08% (+103 -0.26%)
Draws – 53 1.16% (+5 +0.04%)
Survived – 1365 29.99% (+88 +0.2%)

Destroyed – 5397 (+390)
Hit Ratio – 67% (unchanged)
Damage – 2,542,832 (+222,859)
Total Experience – 2,282,300 (+173,891)

Old Efficiency – 1231 (+2)
New Efficiency – 1161 (+6)
WN6 Rating – 1237 (+26)
Average Tier – 4.45 (+0.07)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.19 (+0.02)
Average Damage/Battle – 559 (+18)
Average Kills/Death – 1.69 (+0.03)

Achievements:

Halonen’s Medal – 5
Bilotte’s Medal – 1
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2
De Langlade’s Medal – 1
Pascucci’s Medal – 2 (+2)

Brothers in Arms – 1
Defender – 14
Patrol Duty – 7 (+1)
Invader – 1
Scout – 10 (+1)
Sniper – 167 (+14)
Steel Wall – 70 (+6)
Confederate – 19
Top Gun – 81 (+4)

Master Gunner – 24
Hunter – 1
Reaper – 6
Cool-Headed – 1
Kamikaze – 5
Lucky – 2
Spartan – 4 (+1)
Sharpshooter – 38

Abram’s II Class 3740 to go (-82)
Carius’ II Class 4603 to go (-390)
Ekins III Class 37 to go (-40)
Kay’s II Class 631 to go (-26)
Knispel’s II Class 5,492,289 to go (-379,875)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 25,070 to go (-237)
Leclerc’s II Class 22,758 to go (-166)
Popel’s II Class 14,972 to go (-372)

Top 10 tanks overall:
Marder II – 1020 (620-393)
KV-1 – 357 (190-162)
KV-5 – 256 (146-106)
KV-4 – 167 (91-72)
Panzer IV – 160 (104-56)
Hetzer – 159 (85-74)
KV-3 – 151 (85-63)
KV-2 – 118 (65-52)
Hummel – 114 (58-54)
T-28 – 107 (58-48)

Top 5 tanks in January:
Marder II – 54
KV-4 – 34
Jagdpanther – 33
VK3601H – 26
T1 HT – 22

Comment

Despite being finishing this post off a few days into the month, the numbers are correct from the first of the month. Looking at my efficiency figures for this month reveals very little advance in the old and new flavours of the effiency rating, but a much large improved in WN6 rating. What can be behind this? My guess is this is partly a result of my losing streak earlier this month (which had some fairly poor games by yours truly) and a consequence of how WN6 is constructed. WN6 applies a penalty to your rating if your average tier is below Tier 6. That penalty increases the lower your average tier is. As my average tier is rising the penalty will be reducing, leading to an increase in rating even if everything else stays the same. The other factor will be that WN6 factors in winrate, which the efficiency ratings do not, and this has also increased. Given how pronounced my losing streak was I am pleasantly surprised my winrate has increased as much as it has.

The other metrics are all slowly ticking in the right direction. The one I was most pleased to see was survival. I think if I could raise this from just under 30%, where it is now, to about 35% there would be some very serious improvements in the other metrics. To put it bluntly, once I am dead the impact I can have on the battle is limited to suggestions in chat, and they are very rarely heeded.

Finally the T-28 will drop out of the top 10 this month for sure – both the Panzer III and M4 Sherman are snapping at its heels. The Jagdpanther might also make an appearance in the Top 10. Also this month I hope to acquire Kay’s Medal II Class for destroying 300 Tier VIII and above tanks – but depending how things occur it is possible that will not happen until May.

Leave a Reply

