WoT: February 2013 Report

Overall

My amended re-organisation of how I play tanks worked reasonably well, apart from a spell in the middle of the month where I did not play at all. This has also meant I have played rather fewer matches than last month. Nevertheless, I still managed to pass the 4000 milestone.

In other terms January has proved to be a very quiet month in terms of tanks I have played – and I do not think I have bought a single new tank in January, only sold off a few once I had crewed tanks already acquired. This has made January feel the most “static” month I have played in World of Tanks, probably forever. On the other hand I feel I have deepened somewhat as a player.

My aim for February is really just to try to have a full month on my new schedule for tank playing, to properly assess it. I do not have any great aims – I will likely wait and see if any special offers catch my eye. The only new tank I am particularly eyeing up at the moment is the GW Panther.

Garage Trip

Renault NC-31 (Tier I Light Chinese) – Unplayed. The Chinese Tier I offering.

AMX 38 (Tier III Light French) – fully upgraded. Not played in January.

S-35 CA (Tier V TD French) – researching. Just bought. I have chosen my top tier gun, and am having some success. It can be a killer in the right situation.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. Had a few frustrating matches this month.

Panzer II Luchs (Tier III Light German) – elited. Another tank I have not played in January.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier IV Light German) – full upgraded. Still learning.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. Been playing this as my Tank of the Week for the last week, and had an absolute blast. If you want a lower-tier medium that rewards aggressive play, this is the tank for you.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Not played in January.

VK3001H (Tier VI Medium German) – fully upgraded. This is, I think, something of a jack-of-all-traders kind of medium. It does lots of thinks well or alright, without ever truly excelling at a single one (though like all German tanks it lacks gun depression).

VK3601H (Tier VI Medium German) – researching. Only had a handful of games thus far, so impossible to judge. Just upgraded the turret.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Unplayed in January.

Tiger P (Tier VII Heavy German) – unplayed.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Over 900 battles now. Will most likely reach 1000 sometime in March. Third crew skill currently at 77% – which means I have approximately 555k crew experience to reach 100%.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. For the moment sticking with the HE gun.

Jagdpanther (Tier VII TD German) – researching. The first night I played this tank I was handed seven straight defeats. Not the most auspicious start. Nevertheless I had good fun, and since then the winrate has improved (to be fair, it could not have gotten worse). Recently upgraded the gun to the 8.8cm PaK 43 L/71 which has also helped.

Hummel (Tier V SPG German) – elited. Trying to decide whether to acquire the GW Panther immediately or to continue getting more practice in the Tier V vehicle.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. My Tier II keepsake.

Cruiser Mk II (Tier III Light UK) – fully upgraded. Not played in January.

Medium Mk III (Tier III Medium UK) – researching. Not played in January.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. The Holiday gift, not yet played.

M3 Stuart (Tier III Light USA) – elited. Still my tank of choice with my regular platoon-mate.

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. The crew are now at about 80% on Brothers in Arms. Going to need some dedication to get that last 20%.

T1 HT (Tier V Heavy USA) – researching. Not played in January.

T82 (Tier III TD USA) – elited. One of the deadliest threats in a Tier III battlefield – if given time to fire. Being overly aggressive can be very unforgiving.

A-20 (Tier IV Light USSR) – elited. Not playing. Waiting to sell when I need the slot.

Valentine II (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. A low-tier fortress.

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – fully upgraded. Not played as I figured (correctly, albeit for the wrong reasons) I would need to focus attention elsewhere.

Matilda LL (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Using this tank to still occasionally train the T-34 crew.

Churchill LL (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Working on getting better at aiming for weakspots on this tank, because its high rate of fire can tear any tank it encounters to shreds – if the shells penetrate!

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. I have experimented a little with the derp gun for this tank, but I am not sold on the idea. Against the KV-2 it just does not compare.

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. Not quite a heavy-tank, and not quite a medium, but with a great gun. Currently flavour of the month.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Best way to troll higher-tier tanks.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. I am now just under one-third of the way to unlocked the ST-1. My kill/ratio remains below 1, despite often doing quite well in matches. I am a couple of theories as to why, which I will probably expound upon later in February.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Recently had a shockingly poor run. Done a little better the last couple of days. There is no doubt that if you come up against 3-4 players who know the glaring weak-spot life in this tank becomes short and full of incident! 😀

SU-85B (Tier IV TD USSR) – researching. My current gun has some seriously amusing recoil.

SU-18 (Tier II SPG USSR) – elited. Will shortly sell and acquire the SU-26.

Bought this month: None

Sold this month: Panzer IV, Somua SAu-40, Jagdpanzer IV

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 4029 (+287)
Victories – 2221 55.13% (+164 +0.16%)
Defeats – 1761 43.71% (+122 -0.09%)
Draws – 47 1.17% (+1 -0.06%)
Survived – 1199 29.76% (+82 -0.06%)

Destroyed – 4666 4266 (+400)
Hit Ratio – 67% (+1%)
Damage – 2,120,615 (+229,050)
Total Experience – 1941431 1,541,971 (+183,110)

Efficiency – 1210.96 (+6.81)
Average Tier – 4.32 (+0.08)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.16 (+0.02)
Average Damage/Battle – 526.34 (+20.84)
Average Kills/Death – 1.65 (+0.02)

Achievements:

Halonen’s Medal – 5
Bilotte’s Medal – 1
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2

Defender – 12
Patrol Duty – 2 (+1)
Invader – 1
Scout – 5
Sniper – 145 (+8)
Steel Wall – 56 (+7)
Confederate – 17 (+3)
Top Gun – 67 (+8)

Master Gunner – 23
Hunter – 1
Reaper – 6
Cool-Headed – 1 (+1)
Kamikaze – 4 (+1)
Lucky – 1 (+1)
Spartan – 1 (+1)
Sharpshooter – 33

Abram’s II Class 3898 to go (-75)
Carius’ II Class 5334 to go (-400)
Ekins III Class 108 to go (-35)
Kay’s II Class 695 to go (-27)
Knispel’s II Class 6,230,945 to go (-431,898)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 25,872 to go (-234)
Leclerc’s II Class 23,303 to go (-393)
Popel’s II Class 15,676 to go (-337)

Top 10 tanks overall:
Marder II – 924 (554-364)
KV-1 – 348 (183-160)
KV-5 – 218 (119-96)
Panzer IV – 160 (104-56)
Hetzer – 157 (84-73)
KV-3 – 151 (85-63)
T-28 – 107 (58-48)
KV-2 – 106 (60-45)
KV-4 – 103 (60-41)
Panzer III – 103 (50-51)

Top 5 tanks in January:
Marder II – 46
KV-5 – 46
KV-4 – 34
Jagdpanther – 25
Panzer IV – 16

Comment

Overall I achieved my aims for January statistically speaking – I managed to get my winrate above 55% and keep my efficiency above 1200. Mostly I did this by not focusing over much on the specifics and just tried to do well. Otherwise I think my stats confirm the idea of there being steady progress. I suspect though I am going to soon hit something of a skill plateau unless I am able to raise my game – and that means getting better at fighting the higher-tier tanks. I had a game in my Jagdpanther last night where I did get a sense that is achievable – but only time will tell.

Otherwise I expect the T-28 to drop off my Top 10 list pretty soon. I am also hoping – with the Jagdpanther slowly getting upgraded, to make faster work on Ekins’ Medal (which is killed Tier 8+ tanks). This month may also see me get half-way to Carius’ Medal 1st Class (kill 10,000 enemy tanks). Otherwise I just hope to see improvements in the other metrics.

Leave a Reply

