WoT: December Report

Overall

This last month I have made a serious effort to try to organise what tanks I play. My garage is extensive enough that sometimes choosing which tank to play can be strangely hard – so by having something of a plan I make it easier on myself. Also it is a way of ensuring I actually get to play more of the tanks I actually own. The first iteration of this saw me dividing my tanks up into groups and the week into two, and trying to swap the tanks I play each half-week in each group. Each day I also have three tanks I try to play – the Marder II because it is my favourite, the KV-5 because it helps me get those useful credits (and because it is a birthday present!), and the KV-4 because the research costs of Tier VIII tanks are rather large!

I think going forward I am going to try to play 3-5 games with each tank in each group before moving onto the next one. We’ll see how it goes. The Tier II Project will also be wrapped up shortly, at which point I am likely to start touring around the Tier IIIs.

I am not going to be playing quite as much in December as I have in November. I am going to be spending far more time visiting another country for Christmas and enjoying spending Christmas with my gorgeous baby girl.

Garage Trip

Hotchkiss H35 (Tier II Light French) – elited. A fun enough tank but too similar to the German premium version for me to keep.

Somua SAu-40 (Tier IV TD French) – fully upgraded. Having the top-tier HE gun on this tank has totally changed the gameplay for this tank. I still think this is the ugliest tank I have encountered so far in the game, but I have been forced to change my view on its gameplay somewhat.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. With the KV-4 and KV-5 I have started to learn how to sidescrape, and it is tactic I definitely intend to try to employ on this little beast too.

Panzer II (Tier II Light German) – elited. I have decided I probably will not retain this tank as part of the Tier II project. I just dislike the gun. I am intending to give the Panzer 35t a quick try before I make my final decision.

Panzer II Luchs (Tier III Light German) – elited. Now my brother has a tier III tank I am looking forward to taking this out for a spin again.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier IV Light German) – full upgraded. Managed a few games on this again. Still learning how to get the best out of the Tier IV lights.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. In my new system got some games into this, included one that reminded me just how much I enjoyed this tank.

Panzer IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. Still getting used to the new version.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Have not played any games in the last month – top of my list now in its “group”.

VK3001H (Tier VI Medium German) – researching. My initial impression is of a good “harassing” medium, but it is still early days. I currently have a shockingly poor winrate in it.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Played a handful of matches, which were generally fun. Need to find a better way of using the agility of this tank.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Over 800 battles played. Third skill is now at 65% – and this is where the skill gain will really slow down. I have not currently retrained the crew. Still thinking about that.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. New system ensured a got a few games in on this one too. Unfortunately I had a run of bad teams (lemming train and so on) which frustrated me somewhat. Still can pack a very good punch.

Jagdpanzer IV (Tier VI TD German) – fully upgraded. Over half-way through to unlocking the Jagdpanther. I think people sometimes “don’t see” this tank as they do not consider it a threat. More fool them.

Hummel (Tier V SPG German) – fully upgraded. Once again, got in a few games thanks to the new system. Should definitely try to schedule more as there is nothing like teaching where one is vulnerable to artillery than playing artillery.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. A strong contender to be my Tier II keepsake.

Cruiser Mk I (Tier II Light UK) – elited. Probably not going to be my keepsake.

Medium Mk II (Tier II Medium UK) – researching. Played just one battle so far. The last tier II non-SPG for me to play.

M2 LT (Tier II Light USA) – elited. A strong candidate to be retained as my Tier II tank.

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – fully upgraded. Still an absolute blast to play. There are some maps that are just absolutely made for this tank – Airfield chief amongst them.

T1 HT (Tier V Heavy USA) – researched. Only played a little. Ultimately it is big a target. My gut feeling this tank will be one of those that rapidly loses its effective against higher tier vehicles.

BT-2 (Tier II Light USSR) – elited. Will sell when I decide which Tier II to use.

A-20 (Tier IV Light USSR) – elited. Not played. Waiting to sell when I need the slot.

Valentine LL (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Not played the last month.

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – researching. Will need to get a few more games before I form much of an opinion. So far no one thing stands out – but then I have read that it is a good all-round tank with no dominating feature (good or bad).

Matilda LL (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Managed some matches starting to have a much better appreciation of the armour and firepower of this little machine.

Churchill LL (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Still learning. I think learning how to sidescrape might be useful, but not sure.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. Still pure delight, especially in Tier V matches

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – researching. Have now unlocked the top gun – now trying to get used to playing a (more or less) agile heavy.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Still great fun with the howitzer.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – elited. I starting this tank with all but the top-tier gun unlocked. Now I am most of the way to unlocking the top gun for this tank (which I can use without upgrading tracks or unlocking the turret). I am very much looking forward to its greater penetration, as currently I really struggle against the Tier IX and Xs I encounter.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Regular play is definitely starting to show itself in more effective battles. If I could cure myself of the tendency to be over-aggressive things would improve even more.

AT-1 (Tier II TD USSR) – elited. Waiting until I start to go down the Soviet TD lines.

Bought this month: Hotchkiss H35, VK3001H, A13 Mk I, Cruiser Mk I, Medium Mk II, KV-4

Sold this month: D1, VK3001P, Medium Mk I, KV-3

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 3384 (+371)
Victories – 1834 52.2% (+195 +1639 -0.2%)
Defeats – 1510 44.62% (+173 +0.25%)
Draws – 40 1.2% (+3 unchanged)
Survived – 1003 29.64% (+121 +0.37%)

Destroyed – 3796 (+510)
Hit Ratio – 66% (+1)
Damage – 1,635,879 (+247,198)
Total Experience – 1,541,971 (+210,434)

Efficiency – 1186.42 (+25.77)
Average Tier – 4.17 (+0.09)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.12
Average Damage/Battle – 483.42

Achievements:

Halonen’s Medal – 4
Bilotte’s Medal – 1
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2

Defender – 10 (+1)
Invader – 1
Scout – 4
Sniper – 123 (+18)
Steel Wall – 38 (+12)
Confederate – 12 (+8)
Top Gun – 49 (+7)

Master Gunner – 23
Reaper – 6
Kamikaze – 2
Sharpshooter – 33

Abram’s II Class 4077 to go (-110)
Carius’ II Class 6204 to go (-510)
Ekins III Class 181 to go (-25)
Kay’s II Class 763 to go (-28)
Knispel’s II Class 7,110,101 to go (-461,681)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 26,493 to go (-502)
Leclerc’s II Class 24,359 to go (-610)
Popel’s II Class 16,425 to go (-468)

Top 10 tanks overall:
Marder II – 808 (475-328)
KV-1 – 326 (172-149)
KV-3 – 151 (85-63)
Hetzer – 149 (80-69)
Panzer IV – 141 (92-49)
KV-5 – 133 (73-59)
T-28 – 107 (58-48)
KV-2 – 100 (55-44)
Panzer III – 97 (45-50)
Panzer II – 83 (39-41)

Top 5 tanks in August:
Marder II – 96
KV-5 – 58
KV-4 – 31
A13 Mk I – 23
VK3001H – 21

Comment

I got in a much larger number of tank battles this month than I have recently, and I am not entirely sure how. I suspect it has something to do with Melian’s going to bed time being a little more regular, but that could very well be an illusion. Otherwise I think my win-rate is starting to stabilise. While I hope it will increase longer-term as my ability as a player continues to hopefully improve, gains are becoming harder to come by. The KV-5 has launched itself into the Top Ten played tanks all-career as I have played it at least once nearly every day of the past month. I suspect the Hummel will enter into the Top Ten next month – though it is possible less play time over Christmas will prevent this.

While my winrate has dropped slightly my efficiency has gone up another notch. I have added in two more stats – kills/battle and damage/battle. This is partly from self-interest. My expectation is that they are both increasing over time. In the case of damage/battle this will also partly be a feature of the average tier increasing as higher-tier tanks both have more hit points and do more damage. I am quite please I have increased my hit ratio by another percentage point – I hope to eventually get this over 70%. That will likely take a while.

NB: This post have been updated to reflect new naming conventions in the 8.2 update

4 comments
  1. Bernard said:

    you have way too many tanks :p

  2. mrrx said:

    Don’t listen to him. You can’t have too many.

    • stnylan said:

      Though I will be getting rid of a few shortly – albeit only to make way for more 🙂

Leave a Reply

