WoT: September Report

So this is my second monthly report. I will now start to compare the figures to what the situation was a month previously.

Overall

August has been another very enjoyable month for me in World of Tanks. It has seen me to continue to improve and evolve as a player. In particular I have confirmed a real love for the slower, more heavily armoured tanks – something I intend to write about in more detail at some point. It has also seen the Tier range of the tanks I play generally creep up from IV-VI to V-VIII – though I of course I continue to play the Marder II, work through the early French Tank Destroyers, and play around in Tier IIs.

The thing I am most proud of in August is that I have – mostly – stopped chasing Battle Honours. Don’t get me wrong, I am still very gratified when one happens to drop in my lap, but I have become far more interested in winning, rather than just acquiring accolades. A side effect of this appears to be fewer games where I play very poorly.

I am probably soon going to renew my search for a Clan, though I am not hopeful of finding one into which I will fit. I mean, timewise I desire a casual clan with folks who don’t think the only game is the Tier X game. On the other hand, I want to play the game just as well as I can because a great deal of my ”fun” comes from getting better – but my impression is that many casual players are not so concerned about that as me. Then there is also the mental health angle. We will see.

Garage Trip

Renault UE 57 (Tier III TD French) – fully upgraded. Nice gun when upgraded, more agile than the Marder II, but with a much much smaller gun traverse. I will write more after I have elited it.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. Only played a few matches on this yet, but my overall impression is this is the ultimate light-heavy tank. I can see myself having a lot of fun on it.

Panzer II (Tier II Light German) – elited. Keepsake, which I have recently played again a bit. Once I finish working my way through all the regular Tier II light tanks I will make a decision of which one or two to keep. It may be this one, it may not.

Panzer II Luchs (Tier III Light German) – elited. Keepsake, but one I am started to be tempted to sell if I need the slot.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier IV Light German) – full upgraded. Not quite half-way to researching the VK2801 which will elite this vehicle. Played rarely due to struggles with playstyle.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. I still occasionally take this tank out for a spin, a very different tank from pretty much anything else I currently have.

Panzer IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. I am playing the Panzer IV a little less now I have so much else to play, but this is still my favourite sniper tank.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Well I did buy it, but it is as yet unplayed.

VK3001P (Tier VI Medium German) – researching. Currently researching the final gun for this tank, and then will be starting on engines. A sniper sort of tank. Will be writing a post about it probably later this week.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. As yet unplayed.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Still my favourite and most-played tank. The crew are now at 90% in the second skill, so I hope by the end of September I might be touching the third skill. However, it’s slow work.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. I still love the look of this tank, and still take it out for a spin.

Stug III (Tier V TD German) – elited. I have been playing this tank on and off, but mostly it is now just placeholding until I get the Jagdpanzer IV, which will be the next non-special offer tank I acquire.

Hummel (Tier V SPG German) – fully upgraded. About one-third of the way now along the research to the GW Panther. Still having a great deal of fun.

T1 Cunningham (Tier I Light USA)elited. Will be using this slot as the rotating slot in my Tier II tank project, so this will be going soon.

M3 Lee (Tier IV Medium USA) – fully upgraded. Only about 1000xp to go before this tank is elited. This last research grind has really given me a positive spin on the M3 Lee. Still has horrendous recoil, though I think I am getting better at compensating for it.

BT-2 (Tier II Light USSR) – elited. Keepsake but I may get rid of it when I settle on which Tier II tanks to retain.

A-20 (Tier IV Light USSR) – researching. Recently I have researched the engine on this tank, meaning the last item I have to research is the radio, before grinding out to the T-34. I have become distinctly stubborn about this tank, and am currently now determined not to use free experience on it.

Valentine LL (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. Another light-heavy tank. Very fun.

T-28 (Tier IV Medium USSR) – elited. Still hanging around waiting for me to replace it with the T-34.

Matilda LL (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. Only had a few games so far, but another fun tank on the armoured/slow theme.

Churchill LL (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Just finally played some games in this recently. Superb frontal armour, average side/rear armour, fast-firing but relatively low damage/penetration gun. Dare I say the archetypal British infantry tank? Initial exposure was enjoyable despite a loss.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. Still playing from time to time, the crew is now hitting the 50% mark of the second skill (which means advanced will start to slow down soon).

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – unresearched. Just bought in last weekend’s special offer. Not yet played.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. The 152mm howitzer still makes me smile whenever I take this tank out for a match.

KV-3 (Tier VII Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. Well over half-way to researching the KV-4. I do not know whether I will get the KV-4 in September, or whether that will have to wait until afterwards. In the meantime I still very much enjoy this one, though I have a tendency to be a little too brave in it.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. My birthday present is great. My latest favourite feature is utilising its weight by ramming and killing tanks between reloads. Not that one always gets alot of opportunity for this.

Bought this month: Hummel, VK3001P, KV-1S, RenaultFT AC, Renault UE 57, T-25, Pz 38H735f, Pz B2 740f

Sold this month: Grille, Panzer III/IV, RenaultFT, RenaultFT AC

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 2491 (+336)
Victories – 1339 53.75% (+202 +0.99%)
Defeats – 1117 44.84% (+131 -0.92%)
Draws – 35 1.4% (+3 -0.08%)
Survived – 711 28.54% (+119 +1.07%)

Destroyed – 2606 (+421)
Hit Ratio – 64% (unchanged)
Damage – 1,085,007 (+208,246)
Total Experience – 1,042,913 (+180,646)

Efficiency – 1129.09
Average Tier – 4.01

Achievements:

Halonen’s Medal – 3 (+1)
Bilotte’s Medal – 1
Kolobanov’s Medal – 1 (+1)

Defender – 7 (+1)
Invader – 1
Scout – 4
Sniper – 74 (+8)
Steel Wall – 18 (+4)
Confederate – 6
Top Gun – 31 (+7)

Master Gunner – 23
Reaper – 5
Kamikaze – 2
Sharpshooter – 33

Abram’s II Class 4347 to go (-111)
Carius’ II Class 7394 to go (-421)
Ekins III Class 232 to go (-29)
Kay’s II Class 859 to go (-20)
Knispel’s II Class 8,101,047 to go (-345,883)
Lavrinenko’s III Class 478 to go (-477)
Leclerc’s II Class 25,974 to go (-896)
Popel’s II Class 17,478 to go (-316)

Top 10 tanks overall:
Marder II – 585 (339-242)
KV-1 – 303 (155-143)
Hetzer – 132 (72-60)
Panzer IV – 129 (89-46)
KV-3 – 125 (70-52)
T-28 – 107 (58-48)
Panzer III – 93 (42-49)
KV-2 – 89 (49-40)
Panzer II – 83 (39-41)
M3 Lee – 75 (44-31)

Top 5 tanks in August:
Marder II – 63
Hummel – 46
M3 Lee – 43
KV-3 – 39
VK3001P – 25

Comment

Looking at the above I think it proves that I am not kidding when I say that the Marder II remains my favourite tank. I chose ultimately to show only the top 5 played tanks in August, since there in fact only 8 tanks with more than ten matches in. Interestingly though I drove twenty-four different tanks in the course of the month – quite a wide variety!

I have added in my efficiency rating and average tier as calculated by the Wot-news site, and will track these henceforth. As far as I can remember back at the beginning of August my efficiency was around 1050 and the average tier around 3.8. I intend to write a more detailed post about efficiency at some point.

Looking over the figures for this month the one that stands out most to me is actually the increase in survival rate. Given I tend to err on the side of aggressiveness (which doesn’t lead to a long life) perhaps this is a sign that I am learning. My kill rate for August also remains over 1/match, which is very gratifying. Kills can be slightly over-rated but they are a very obvious sign of contribution, and quite heartening to see as a result. I expect the amount of damage to increase somewhat in September as well as the average tier of my tanks goes up, and therefore the amount of damage done.

Leave a Reply

