Personal: Joining the twenty-first century

Last weekend, my trusty old Nokia finally stopped working properly. The 1 2 and 3 keys stopped working. Amongst other things, this made it somewhat difficult to text. So I checked to see if I could upgrade my phone (I could), gritted my teeth and joined the twenty-first century, in the guise of ordering a smartphone. I won’t say I am dragging myself kicking and screaming, but I will say that ill chance forced my hand.

It’s weird. Things keep happening when I touch the screen. Occasionally things happen I even intend.

I am the last of my immediate family to join the smartphone generation. My brothers have had smartphones for quite some time. Last year my mother – who is sixty-plus years young – started using a smartphone. I was the definite dinosaur in the family.

On one hand, I know in a few weeks, perhaps even a few days, I am going to be having a lot of fun with it. Right now however, although working out how to use it is also intriguing and diverting, it is also very frustrating. I have never liked touchscreens. I am sure I will get used to it, even appreciate it, but they are too imprecise and ephemeral for me, and right now, just somewhat frustrating.

My wife has been as resistant to smartphones as I, but recently we did agree when it came around to upgrade each of our phones we would both take the plunge. It has proven to be my turn first.

So far I am fairly happy for one day. I have read email, sent a text and tweeted on my phone. I have even *shock* made and received telephone calls. Just like a new game though, it is a great adventure.

 

Leave a Reply

