WoT: August Report

I have decided to do a series of posts, on or as close to the first of the month as I can manage, about how things stand for me in World of Tanks. This is as much for my own interest, but since I am going to be writing it anyway I might as well blog it 🙂 The format will likely be a work in progress for a while, but my intention is to write about the month just gone to begin with, then enter in a bunch of numbers, and finish up with a final comment on those numbers. This first entry though will have an extended final section as I explain some of what I am recording. Given there is going to be a lot of detail, I will try to place most of this under a fold (if I manage to get it to work! 🙂 ).

Overall

The main feature of this last month or so has been me increasing the maximum tier of the tanks I play, with the KV-3 at Tier VII and now the KV-5 at Tier VIII. The majority of my play however remains in Tiers III-V. 

As far as German tanks go, on the Stug III I unlocked the Jagdpanzer IV, and in the Panzer III/IV and Panzer IV I have unlocked the three German Tier VI mediums. Finally in the Grille I have now unlocked the Tier V Hummel. The Leopard remains a work in progress and I have over 30,000 xp to go before unlocked the Tier V light VK2801.

In the Soviet Tree I am busily exploring the KV heavy tank line. I am also occasionally doing something on the A-20 – though in reality I am likely to use free experience to complete researching that to get me access to the T-34 at some point. On the American side I have enough experience in the M3 Lee to research either the T1 HT or the M4 Sherman, but I have not yet decided which to initially go for. I probably will not make a decision anytime soon – to allow myself flexibility if one of them comes up on special offer. I have not yet starting playing French tanks, something that will now change with the release of 7.5.

Trip through the Garage

RenaultFT (Tier I Light French) – unresearched and as yet unplayed.

Panzer II (Tier II Light German) – elited, keepsake low-tier tank.

Panzer II Luchs (Tier III Light German) – elited, keepsake low-tier tank.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier IV Light German) – fully upgraded, playing somewhat rarely due to struggles with light tank playstyle.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited, fun low-tier medium / heavy-scout.

Panzer III/IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. Interesting hypothetical tank which I intend to write a post about shortly.

Panzer IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. An excellent sniper tank, able to inflict pain even on higher-tier tanks.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Still my favourite tank

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited, keepsake tank which I still play occasionally. Still one of the coolest looking tanks out there.

Stug III (Tier V TD German) – elited. Ultimately I have been unsatisfied with this tank, I am going to sell it to make way for the Jagdpanzer IV at some point, though I may play it now and then in the meantime.

Wespe (Tier III SPG German) – elited. Kept initially to see if I wanted to have a lower-tier SPG to play, but not played it at all recently. Will likely sell in the near future.

Grille (Tier IV SPG German) – elited. Will sell shortly when I acquire a Hummel. Fun tank to play that can apply reasonable damage to everything it encounters.

T1 Cunningham (Tier I Light American) – elited. Placeholding for another American tank as and when I need this space. Looks more like a mechanical rubbish bin than a tank.

M3 Lee (Tier IV Medium American) – fully upgraded. Worst gun recoil I have yet encountered. Otherwise can be a very fun tank to play in Tier IV and V matches – much less so above that.

BT-2 (Tier II Light Soviet) – elited, keepsake

A-20 (Tier IV Light Soviet) – fully upgraded, probably going to elite with free experience.

Valentine LL (Tier IV Light Soviet) – premium. A miniature heavy tank, great fun. This tank makes me very interested in British tanks overall.

T-28 (Tier IV Medium Soviet) – elited. I played this a lot when I was grinding away for the old KV before the 7.4 patch, and I will always remember it fondly for being the tank in which I won my first topgun battle honour. That said I will be selling this tank to make room for the T-34 when I finally decide to go and get that one, as I basically have not played this tank since getting the KV.

Matilda LL (Tier V Medium Soviet) – premium. Not yet played. Purchased on special offer.

Churchill LL (Tier V Heavy Soviet) – premium. Not yet played. Purchased on special offer.

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy Soviet) – elited. If anything I actually like this tank more than the old KV, and probably will even more with the matchmaker changes. Just starting working on a second skill for the crew.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy Soviet) – elited. This month I did play around with the “long” top-tier gun for this tank, but I have gone back to use the short, stubby, high-HE damage howitzer. It is just more fun, and doubtless will become even more fun with the matchmaker changes.

KV-3 (Tier VII Heavy Soviet) – researching. Now I have the top engine for this tank, it actually moves! Well, not massively fast of course, but it is noticeably not quite as sluggish. In particular I think the real challenge is learning how best to play when one is top-tier for a match, but when there are only 1-3 top-tier tanks as one’s impact on the match is much greater than it otherwise might be.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy Soviet) – premium. My birthday present preciousssss. Very much still learning this tank, but so far having fun.

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 2155
Victories – 1137 (52.76%)
Defeats – 986 (45.76%)
Draws – 32 (1.48%)
Survived – 592 (27.47%)

Destroyed – 2185
Hit Ratio – 64%
Damage – 876,761
Total Experience – 862,267

Achievements:

Halonen’s Medal – 2
Bilotte’s Medal – 1

Defender – 6
Invader – 1
Scout – 4
Sniper – 66
Steel Wall – 14
Confederate – 6
Top Gun – 24

Master Gunner – 23
Reaper – 5
Kamikaze – 2
Sharpshooter – 33

Abram’s II Class (4458 to go)
Carius’ II Class (7815 to go)
Ekins III Class (261 to go)
Kay’s II Class (879 to go)
Knispel’s II Class (8,446,930 to go)
Lavrinenko’s III Class (955 to go)
Leclerc’s II Class (26,870 to go)
Popel’s II Class (17,794 to go)

Top 10 tanks:

Marder II – 522 (298-221)
KV-1 – 295 (149-141)
Hetzer – 130 (72-58)
Panzer IV – 115 (72-43)
T-28 – 107 (58-48)
Panzer III – 91 (42-47)
KV-3 – 86 (40-43)
KV-2 – 85 (45-40)
Panzer II – 79 (37-39)
Grille – 73 (35-34)

Comment

In the future I am likely to note how these change from month to month. To explain, the first section of figures are simply the raw numbers, and should otherwise be fairly self-explanatory. The Achievements are divided into four sections: epic achievements, battle honours, titles, and finally the medals. There are four classes of medals, going from IV (lowest) to I (highest). The top 10 tanks are simply the ten tanks I have played most games in overall. I am probably going to create a spreadsheet allowing me to track which will be the top 10 each month as well. The numbers in parenthesis are the win-loss record – any discrepancy between those figures and the total can be accounted for as drawn matches.

Looking at this the T-28 is my fifth highest tank to the KV grind as I have already mentioned. I also rarely play many games anymore on the Panzer II, only a few very on the Panzer III. The total for the Grille will shortly cease to increase when I sell it. I got my first Invader Battle Honour in just the last few days, and am quite pleased with it I have to say. Mostly though I am expected to have more comment the next time I do this, when it can be compared to something.

Leave a Reply

