EVE: Inventory change, initial thoughts

Changing the inventory system of a game is no small step. I recall hating Turbine’s first attempt to amend the LOTRO vault system which was, I think, fairly disastrous, and they ended up prioritising revising it (I quite like the current system they ended up with). The reason why it is such a massive undertaking is obvious enough. One can avoid many features in most games should one choose, or at the very least avoid being directly affected by them. In EVE if you don’t want to mine or build, you can just buy them from people who do. In LOTRO if you don’t like raids, you can ignore them. Two very simple examples. The inventory system however directly effects everyone. You cannot escape it, no matter hard you try.

On the whole no one likes change, in a general sense, all that much. Sure, there are changes we ourselves are enthusiastic about, but on the whole most people (in reasonable situations) want tomorrow to be pretty much like today. The average person can get irate enough when things change over which he or she has no control – just look at the forums of any MMO after a major change. The person with Asperger’s syndrome can dislike change even more intensely. This is likely to be a theme of my writing – being Aspergic I have come to learn that often what I experience emotionally isn’t particularly different from other folks in what I feel (be it angry, happy, sad, and so on), but more on how one processes and manages that emotion. So when CCP announced they were changing the inventory system in EVE Online, my immediate reaction was to get a bit irate.

Then I took a deep breath, and started to try to manage that negative emotion rush. One of the massive advantages I have in my life now, compared to eight years ago (for example) is I am now much more aware of how my brain works. This is why I regard being diagnosed as Aspergic as actually quite liberating. I don’t regard Asperger’s as a barrier preventing me from doing stuff, but more a handy bit of knowledge to help me manage difficulties that would otherwise prevent me from doing the things I would like to do. Now, this is very much a work in progress, and I don’t always manage it, but these are processes I go through to some extent every single day. So I took a deep breath and started to tell myself (a) it’s not the end of the world, (b) there is the chance it will make things better, and (c) probably after a couple of months I won’t even think about it again.

So I finally got to log into EVE last night to find everything has changed, and actually, it wasn’t so bad. I am a bit annoyed by a couple of things about the new system. I do think however I will make the transition, and I am looking forward to playing around with the filters in particular. I must admit I don’t actually really see why things had to change … but there is nothing I can do about that. Besides, it’s not that bad. Will just take a bit of getting used to.

Now, if this change had been a surprise, I think it is quite possible I would log off EVE Online for a few weeks. Thankfully CCP announced it with a long enough lead-time to allow me to assimilate the change and prepare for it. Not by going on Sisi or anything like that, but just mentally allowing myself time to adjust for the change.

1 comment
  1. Red Neckromonger said:

    The inventory system is going to take some time to get use to. I may even have to completely reconfigure my entire screen around the new system. The screen I’ve had setup and gotten fond of for more than two years now. I’ll find a happy medium somewhere and go with it, but after a 4-day weekend playing around with it, it still seems unnessessary. The time it takes to load is one of the few bugs I’ve seen or heard about, hopefully they’ll get resolved. Maybe my screen needs a good shaking up and moving around.

Leave a Reply

