WoT: In the right place

One of the most frustrating things in World of Tanks is when you are left to hold an entire flank or area mostly or entirely unsupported. Very often, such a situation does not end well – at best one can hope to delay the enemy long enough that the rest of the team will steamroller elsewhere. However, there is always a point to holding that flank – because poor teams sometimes works both ways, and in those circumstances everything changes.

The map is Ruinberg on a standard Tier IV battle, and I am in my Marder II on the southern start position. The vast majority of my team start to head into the town itself, a couple of other light tanks start camping right at the southern edge of the map. No one goes up to the line of houses on the east-side that runs part-way to the centre of the map, roughly half-way up. Reluctantly – because the Marder II is not the best tank for this – I start to head in that direction (on the far east side) because ceding control of that line of houses is usually a good way to ensure the team in the city gets flanked. To top it off, by the time I have reached the houses we are 0-4 in tanks down. Things looked pretty bleak.

Not entirely though – because as I crossed the road it became clear the enemy team had forsaken the line of houses too. I got into a good firing position slotted at an angle between two buildings that offered a fair bit of cover. Enemy tanks that were “defending” the base started to be revealed, and I started to shoot away. At one point a Type 2597 Chi-Ha tried to charge me, but rather than coming around the side of me he did show straight across the field and died. An M5A3 Stuart tried to plink away at me all the way from the base circle, but only managed one hit. A Bison tried to get me – but the buildings basically protected me and in revealing himself he quickly died.

In what seemed very short order the two light tanks who had been camping far at my rear had decided to actually join me and the entire eastern-flank of the enemy had been turned. The right in the town also turned – I like to think in part because I actually attracted the attention of about half the enemy team over the course of the entire battle. The battle score was now 11-8, but it was not that close, and in short order the rest of the enemy tanks were destroyed.

My final tally was a Top Gun with six kills – five of which were in that critical mid-portion of the battle where I was blasting away on my lonesome. A single enemy could have raced around to flank me and probably succeeded.

Sometimes – quite often actually – success is not playing brilliantly oneself. It is taking advantage of mistakes others make, and this match was a classic case. Also a good example of how picking a good spot can be vital, because from where I was and because of how I was angled I was able to keep almost all the enemy in the Marder’s wide gun-arc. Of course, in a different battle it would have been a poor spot, but in this one it worked.

All in all a very good game to take advantage of the double crew experience of the special offer at the time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

