WoT: January 2013 Report

Overall

My attempted re-organisation at what tanks I play last month actually worked pretty well. I got to play a variety of tanks and in general it felt like I was not just hopping aimlessly. The system could stand with some amendment however, so I am making a modification to it which I will put in operation after the x5 special offer for New Year has finished. I am intending to post about this more in detail later.

Otherwise I did go for just over a week around Christmas without playing World of Tanks, but nevertheless I have managed to put in a very respectable number of battles nevertheless (partly as a result of baby girl getting more settled, which means we have had more recreation time). The Tier II Project wound-up and new projects have started.

My aim in the coming month is to acquire the Jagdpanther, possibly acquire the GW Panther (though I might put that off to February), work further through the early tanks of the US and Soviet TD lines, and continue on with the Tier III Project.

Garage Trip

AMX 38 (Tier III Light French) – fully upgraded. A well armoured, slow moving light tank.

Somua SAu-40 (Tier IV TD French) - elited.  Having purchased the next tank I am just waiting for the current special offer to end so I can get the best price when I sell it. This is because equipment is currently on a 50% discount, and the complex equipment (which I will not dismount with gold) is selling for half the discounted price – ie a quarter of the ordinary price. By waiting to sell after the current discount ends I will get more credits basically when I sell the vehicle.

S-35 CA (Tier V TD French) – researching. Just bought. Strangely it can turn its gun more one way than the other, and very obviously so. Had some good initial battles, but too soon to say anymore.

Pz38H735f (Tier II Light German) – premium. Still good fun.

Panzer II Luchs (Tier III Light German) – elited. The most agile tank I have ever played, but I am still getting used to it again.

VK1602 Leopard (Tier IV Light German) – full upgraded. I have had some more success in this recently. This is partly a change of attitude as I have really come to understand the difference between a light tank and a dedicated scout tank.

Panzer III (Tier IV Medium German) – elited. Now I have bought Coated Optics looking forward to even more effective heavy-scout goodness.

Panzer IV (Tier V Medium German) – elited. This month is make or break for the Panzer IV. Early in January I am going to focus on it for about a week to decide whether or not to keep it. I am leaning towards selling it, albeit for a completely cosmetic reason – I find it looks really ugly with the new upgraded turret.

T-25 (Tier V Medium German) – premium. Fast but not manoeuvrable, it can be a real pest to an opposing heavy.

VK3001H (Tier VI Medium German) – fully upgraded. Now I have this fully upgraded it has really come into its own. It is most definitely made for being a flanker, though it has an all-round capability that is to be envied. My winrate has also improved quite a bit.

VK3601H (Tier VI Medium German) – unplayed. Waiting on whether or not I keep the Panzer IV.

Pz B2 740f (Tier IV Heavy German) – premium. Played a handful of matches, which were generally fun. Need to find a better way of using the agility of this tank.

Marder II (Tier III TD German) – elited. Approaching 900 battles. Third skill is now at 69% – and this is where the skill gain will really slow down. I have not currently retrained the crew. Still thinking about that.

Hetzer (Tier IV TD German) – elited. Trying to decide whether I prefer the HE derp gun to the

Jagdpanzer IV (Tier VI TD German) – fully upgraded. Over half-way through to unlocking the Jagdpanther. I think people sometimes “don’t see” this tank as they do not consider it a threat. More fool them.

Hummel (Tier V SPG German) – fully upgraded. Now only about 6000 experience away from eliting this tank. Nevertheless I do not think I will be purchasing the GW Panther immediately. I will, however, continue to play along the Hummel to keep getting in the artillery practice.

Cruiser Mk III (Tier II Light UK) – elited. My Tier II keepsake.

Cruiser Mk II (Tier III Light UK) – fully upgraded. Has a strange little derp gun to it that I cannot decide if I like.

Medium Mk III (Tier III Medium UK) – researching. Unlocked all but the radio. Once again I am feeling more like I am playing an ungainly TD than a medium tank.

T1E6 (Tier II Light USA) – premium. The Holiday gift, not yet played.

M3 Stuart (Tier III Light USA) – elited. I am having a lot of fun on this tank. It is also the first truly speedy tank I have played since the physics update, and I am learning all about bouncing. Also it is great rammer (though it will take damage).

M4 Sherman (Tier V Medium USA) – elited. Will be continuing training Brothers in Arms on this tank to 100% before moving on. After some playing around I have decided I dislike the derp-gun for the M4, even with premium ammo. I have more success with the AP-gun.

T1 HT (Tier V Heavy USA) – researching. So far so good with this tank. No doubt it struggles against higher-tier opponents, but it can be surprisingly deadly even so.

T82 (Tier III TD USA) – researching. Quite a deadly little tank, and very manoeuvrable.

A-20 (Tier IV Light USSR) – elited. Not playing. Waiting to sell when I need the slot.

Valentine LL (Tier IV Light USSR) – premium. A low-tier fortress.

T-34 (Tier V Medium USSR) – fully upgraded. Putting progression of the Soviet Medium line onto the backburner for the moment.

Matilda LL (Tier V Medium USSR) – premium. This tank can make one feel very brave, not always wisely so :) .

Churchill LL (Tier V Heavy USSR) – premium. Working on getting better at aiming for weakspots on this tank, because its high rate of fire can tear any tank it encounters to shreds – if the shells penetrate!

KV-1 (Tier V Heavy USSR) – elited. I have experimented a little with the derp gun for this tank, but I am not sold on the idea. Against the KV-2 it just does not compare.

KV-1S (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. The way I think of this tank now is of an agile KV-2, only with a high-powered AP gun rather than the HE.

KV-2 (Tier VI Heavy USSR) – elited. Best way to troll higher-tier tanks.

KV-4 (Tier VIII Heavy USSR) – fully upgraded. Everything is now researched, including the turret which I am not equipping (though I bought it). It has a secondary turret which looks like a massive weakspot, and I see no reason to make it easier to destroyer. Otherwise this is one of the few tanks I have which has a kill/game ratio of less than 1, though with the best gun this is now improving.

KV-5 (Tier VIII Heavy USRR) – premium. Still needing to learn the weakspots of the Tier VIII and IX opposition.

SU-85B (Tier IV TD USSR) – researching. Too early to tell what I think of this tank. Currently researching better weaponry.

SU-18 (Tier II SPG USSR) – researching. As yet unplayed.

Bought this month: AMX 38, Medium Mk III, Cruiser Mk II, M3 Stuart, T82, SU-76, SU-85B, SU-18, VK3601H, S-35 CA, Tiger P

Sold this month: SU-76, Hotchkiss H35, Medium Mk II, Cruiser Mk I, M2 LT, T18, AT-1, Panzer II, BT-2

Facts and Figures

Overall figures:

Battles Participated – 3742 (+358)
Victories – 2057 54.97% (+223 +0.77%)
Defeats – 1639 43.8% (+129 -0.82%)
Draws – 46 1.23% (+6 +0.03%)
Survived – 1117 29.85% (+114 +0.21%)

Destroyed – 4266 (+470)
Hit Ratio – 66% (unchanged)
Damage – 1,891,565 (+255,686)
Total Experience – 1,758,321 1,541,971 (+216,350)

Efficiency – 1204.15 (+17.73)
Average Tier – 4.24 (+0.07)
Average Kills/Battle – 1.14 (+0.02)
Average Damage/Battle – 505.5 (+22.08)
Average Kills/Death – 1.63 (+0.04)

Achievements:

Halonen’s Medal – 5 (+1)
Bilotte’s Medal – 1
Kolobanov’s Medal – 2
Radley-Walter’s Medal – 2 (+2)

Defender – 12 (+2)
Patrol Duty – 1 (+1)
Invader – 1
Scout – 5 (+1)
Sniper – 137 (+14)
Steel Wall – 49 (+11)
Confederate – 14 (+2)
Top Gun – 59 (+10)

Master Gunner – 23
Hunter – 1 (+1)
Reaper – 6
Kamikaze – 3 (+1)
Sharpshooter – 33

Abram’s II Class 3973 to go (-104)
Carius’ II Class 5734 to go (-470)
Ekins III Class 143 to go (-38)
Kay’s II Class 722 to go (-41)
Knispel’s II Class 6,662,843 to go (-447,258)
Lavrinenko’s II Class 26,106 to go(-387)
Leclerc’s II Class 23,696 to go (-663)
Popel’s II Class 16,013 to go (-412)

Top 10 tanks overall:
Marder II – 877 (519-352)
KV-1 – 336 (178-153)
KV-5 – 172 (95-74)
KV-3 – 151 (85-63)
Hetzer – 151 (81-70)
Panzer IV – 144 (95-49)
T-28 – 107 (58-48)
KV-2 – 105 (59-45)
Panzer III – 97 (45-50)
Hummel – 93 (48-43)

Top 5 tanks in December:
Marder II – 69
KV-5 – 39
KV-4 – 38
SU-76 – 23
Jagdpanzer IV – 20

Comment

I have added in one other statistic, kills/death, and have back-calcuated the change from last month. All in all I am happy with where my stats are going. My win-rate may be a little inflated by a very good run of victories last night. Otherwise the Hummel has entered into my Top 10 of all time. The KV-4 might manage to do so this month. Meanwhile in January I should be able to crest 4000 battles overall, and 900 in the Marder II. I am disappointed by the slow progress on getting the Ekin’s Medal II Class – this medal is awarded for killing Tier VIII tanks and above. However, with a Jagdpanther shortly going to be joining my garage – and therefore three tanks with reasonable expectations of being able to kill Tier VIII tanks – I hope my progress here will speed up.

Otherwise in January my main statistical hopes are to keep my efficiency above 1200, and if possible to get my winrate over 55%. I think the latter will be a harder ask than the former, though I do think it is possible I will fail at both.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

